Publication Date

January 1, 1989

Perspectives Section


Peter Boyle, University of Nottingham, England, was selected as Wayne Aspinall Lecturer at Mesa College, Colorado. Professor Boyle will deliver a fifteen-lecture series on the history of U.S.-Soviet relations at the college this spring.

Frank Burke, former Acting Archivist of the United States, has accepted the post of editor of the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States Newsletter, published by Chadwyck-Healey Inc. The new publication will be published three times yearly and is directed to scholars and researchers.

The National Endowment for the Humanities awarded associate professors Marvin R. Cox and Lawrence N. Langer, both from the University of Connecticut, Storrs, a major grant to implement the model course in Western civilization they recently developed.

Barbara Jeanne Fields, professor of history, Columbia University, has been the University of Mississippi’s resident Ford Foundation Scholar for the 1988 fall semester.

The Sierra Prize awarded by the Western Association of Women Historians, for best mononograph was awarded to Nina Rattner Gelbart for her book, Feminine and Opposition Journalism in Old Regime France: Le Journal des Dames.

Gregory J. Higby, acting director of the American Institute of the History of Pharmacy for the last two years, was elected director of the Institute. The post began this past November 1988.

The 1988 Toynbee Prize, from the Toynbee Prize Foundation, was awarded to Princeton professor emeritus, George F. Kennan. The international award honors an individual who has made a distinguished contribution to the social sciences.

The United States Army Center of Military History awarded Mark Kwasny of the Ohio State University a dissertation fellowship for 1988-89.

William H. McNeill, Millikan Distinguished Service professor of history emeritus, University of Chicago, and former AHA president, has been appointed Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholar for 1988–89. During his appointment, Professor McNeill will travel to eight institutions.

The National Endowment for the Humanities has awarded Martin V. Melosi, professor of history and director of the Institute for Public History, University of Houston, a grant to write an overview of city growth in the United States.

Karen Offen received the Judith Lee Ridge Prize from the Western Association of Women Historians for her article, “Ernest Legouve and the Doctrine of Equality in Difference for Women: A Case study of Male Feminism in Nineteenth-Century French Thought,” Journal of Modern History, June 1986.

The National Historical Publications and Records Commission selected Guenter Kurt Piehler as a 1988–89 fellow in historical editing. Mr. Piehler will work with The Selected Papers of Charles Willson Peale and his Family.

The Rutgers University Center for the American Woman and Politics awarded a research grant to Janann Sherman, Rutgers University, for her study, “The Impact of Gender Identification: The Career of Margaret Chase Smith”.

The Rockefeller Archive Center selected James A. Smith, adjunct professor of history, New School for Social Research, the first Rockefeller Scholar-in-Residence Award at the center. The award will support research in the general field of the history of philanthropy.

The Johns Hopkins University Press has announced that Merritt Roe Smith, professor in the science, technology, and society program at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology has been named the new general editor of the Johns Hopkins Studies in the History of Technology.

The Alexander von Humboldt Prize for Research (the Federal Republic of Germany’s most distinguished award in the humanities) was awarded to Mack Walker, professor of history, The Johns Hopkins University.

Eric H. Walther was selected as a National Historical Publications and Records Commission fellow in historical editing. Mr. Walther will work with The Papers of Jefferson Davis.

Stanley B. Winters, professor of history, New Jersey Institute of Technology, was elected president of the Czechoslovak History Conference for 1988-90.