Publication Date

October 1, 1996

Under the bylaws pursuant to Article VIII, Sections 2, 3, and 4 of the constitution, the executive director invites all members of the Association to submit to her, on or before January 17, 1997, recommendations for the following offices: president-elect (by rotation, American history); vice president of the Teaching Division (oversight of the division, member of the Council); Council, two positions (governance of the AHA); Professional Division, one position (rights and responsibilities of historians, professional conduct, job market, status of women and minorities, data collection and analysis, membership, and professional- service prizes); Research Division, one position (priorities in support of research and new research tools, relationships with archivists, librarians, and other organizations, research grants and fellowships, book prizes, AHR, annual meeting); Teaching Division, one position (teaching in AHA activities and publications, history curriculum, new methods of instruction and cooperation, history education, -and pamphlets); Committee on Committees, one position (nominations for large number of important Association committees, including book awards an prizes, delegates); and the Nominating Committee, three positions (nominations for all elective posts). All suggestions received will be forwarded to the Nominating Committee for consideration at its meeting next February. Present membership of the Council and elective committees is as follows, with open positions indicated by the year and name in bold italic lettering:


1996 Caroline W. Bynum, Columbia Univ. (medieval), president

1996 Joyce Appleby, Univ. of California at Los Angeles (early modern-England, colonial America, revolutionary era of the United States), president-elect

1996 John H. Coatsworth,Harvard Univ. (Latin America), immediate past president

1997 William G. Rosenberg, Univ. of Michigan (imperial Russia/Soviet), vice preSident, Research Division

1998 Peter N. Stearns,Carnegie Mellon Univ. (Europe, social), vice president, Teaching Division

1999 Carla Rahn Phillips, Univ. of Minnesota (early modern Europe, social and economic, Spain), vice president, Professional Division

1997 Leslie Brown, Univ. of Missouri at St. Louis (American social and political)

1997 Walter LaFeber, Cornell Univ. (America)

1998 Barbara Ramusack,Univ. of Cincinnati (South Asia)

1998 David Trask,Guilford Technical Community Call. (United States)

1999 Douglas Greenberg, Chicago Historical Society (early America, American legal, social and cultural, urban and public)

1996 Cheryl Martin, Univ. of Texas at El Paso (Latin America, colonial Mexico, borderlands)



1997 Reid Andrews, Univ. of Pittsburgh (Latin America)

1998 William J. Cronon, Univ. of Wisconsin at Madison (U.S. West)

1999 Gail Savage, St. Mary's Call. of Maryland (modern Britain, social and cultural)


1997 Robert C. Ritchie, Huntington Library (early America, early modern England)

1998 Donna J. Guy,Univ. of Arizona at Tucson (Latin America)

1999 Jacqueline Jones, Brandeis Univ. (American social)


1997 Doris Meadows, Wilson Magnet High School, Rochester, N.Y. (U.S. Progressive Era)

1998 Evelyn Hu-DeHart,Univ. of Colorado at Boulder (Latin America)

1999 Teofilo Ruiz, Brooklyn ColI., City Univ. of New York (medieval, Spain)

Committee on Committees

1997 N. Geoffrey Parker, Yale Univ. (early modem Europe)

1997 Kathy L. Peiss, Univ. of Massachusetts at Amherst (modern United States)

1998 Bonnie G. Smith, Rutgers Univ. (modern Europe)

1999 Eric Van Young, Univ. of California at San Diego (colonial Latin America, Mexico)

Nominating Committee

1997 Lizabeth Cohen, New York Univ. (U.S. social and urban)

1997 Jose Cuello, Wayne State Univ. (colonial Latin America)

1997 Sarah Maza, Northwestern Univ. (18th-century France)

1998 Gordon Chang,Stanford Univ. (Asian American)

1998 Karen Ordahl Kupperman,New York Univ. (American colonial)

1998 Arthur Zilversmit,Lake Forest Coll. (American intellectual)

1999 Lillie Johnson Edwards, Drew Univ. (African American social, African American, women's)

1999 Merry E. Weisner-Hanks, Univ. of Wisconsin at Milwaukee (Renaissance, Reformation, early modern, Christianity, women and gender)

1999 Mary Elizabeth Berry, Univ. of California at Berkeley (medieval, early modern Japan, political and cultural)

Also see the ballot material for the 1996 elections that was mailed to the membership last month, the slate of which was published in the April 1996 issue of Perspectives. Submit suggestions to Sandria B. Freitag, Executive Director, AHA, 400 A St., SE, Washington, DC 20003-3889. Specify the academic or other position and field of the individual you are nominating and include a brief statement describing the nominee's qualifications for the particular position for which you are recommending him or her.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.