Publication Date

October 2, 2023

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

Under the AHA Constitution and Bylaws (Article VIII, Section 1; Article IX; and Bylaws 11 and 12), the executive director invites all members of the Association to submit, on or before January 7, 2024, recommendations for the following offices:


Vice President, Teaching Division (member of the Council, chair of the Division)

Councilor, Professional Division, one position (Council—governance of the organization; Division—responsible for overseeing matters concerning working conditions and practices of historians, primarily by articulating ethical standards and best practices in the historical discipline)

Councilor, Research Division, one position (Council—governance of the organization; Division—responsible for promoting historical scholarship, encouraging the collection and preservation of historical documents and artifacts, ensuring equal access to information, and fostering the dissemination of information about historical records and research)

Councilor, Teaching Division, one position (Council—governance of the organization; Division—responsible for the Council’s work relating to history education, including efforts to promote and improve teaching and learning of history at all levels of education)

Committee on Committees, two positions (nominations for large number of Association committees, including book awards and prizes; member begins serving immediately after election)

Nominating Committee, three positions (nominations for all elective posts)

Members of the Council and elective committees as of January 7, 2024, are listed below. Positions being replaced in the June 1–July 15, 2024, elections are in bold.

Unless otherwise indicated, terms expire in January of the listed year.


2025 Edward W. Muir Jr., Northwestern Univ. (medieval and early modern Europe, religion, urban, legal and criminal)

2026 Thavolia Glymph, Duke Univ. (slavery, emancipation, plantation societies and economies, gender, women)

2027 Ben Vinson III, Howard Univ. (African diaspora, colonial Mexico)

Professional Division

2025 Laura Hostetler, councilor, Univ. of Illinois at Chicago (Qing empire, Sino-European relations, early modern world, cartography, humanities education)

2026 Anne Hyde, vice president, Univ. of Oklahoma (19th-century North American West, Indigenous America, race)

2026 Tony Frazier, councilor, North Carolina Central Univ. (social and legal history of blacks in 18th-century in Great Britain, Atlantic slavery and emancipation, African American)

2027 Kristin O’Brassill-Kulfan, councilor, Rutgers Univ. (19th-century US, social, public)

Research Division

2025 Sandra Greene, councilor, Cornell Univ. (slavery, biography, Ghana)

2026 Erin Greenwald, councilor, Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities (French Atlantic world, colonial Louisiana)

2027 William G. Thomas III, vice president, Univ. of Nebraska, Lincoln (American legal, digital scholarship)

2027 Jana Lipman, councilor, Tulane Univ. (20th-century US, US foreign relations, US immigration, labor)

Teaching Division

2025 Kathleen Hilliard, vice president,Iowa State Univ. (informal economies, slavery and emancipation, US South)

2025 Karen Marrero, councilor,Wayne State Univ. (early North America and Indigenous, transnational and borderlands)

2026 Charles Zappia, councilor, San Diego Mesa Coll. (corporatization of higher education, community college historians, transformation of work and the American labor movement)

2027 Jennifer Baniewicz, councilor, Amos Alonzo Stagg High School (US, AP US, AP European, Western civilization)

At Large

2027 Pragya Kaul, Univ. of Michigan (Europe, global and world, Asia)

Committee on Committees

7/2024 Julie Hardwick, Univ. of Texas at Austin (early modern Europe, social/legal/gender)

7/2024 Franziska Seraphim, Boston Coll. (modern Japan, global and comparative, historical memory, social politics)

7/2025 Rashauna Johnson, Univ. of Chicago (Atlantic slavery and emancipation, 19th-century African diaspora, US South, urban and regional)

7/2026 Julio Capó Jr., Florida International Univ. (20th-century queer Miami, transnational Caribbean-US sexuality)

Nominating Committee

2025 Lisa Leff, US Holocaust Memorial Museum and American Univ. (Jews of modern France)

2025 Melissa N. Stuckey, Elizabeth City State Univ. (African American migration to Oklahoma, African American history, Black freedom struggles)

2025 Philip Thai, Northeastern Univ. (modern China, legal, economic, diplomatic)

2026 Carlos Kevin Blanton, Texas A&M Univ. (Chicana/o history, education, civil rights, Texas)

2026 Bianca Murillo, California State Univ., Dominguez Hills (modern Africa, global capitalism/economies/markets, race and gender studies)

2026 Kaya Şahin, Indiana Univ. (early modern Ottoman Empire, history writing, governance, religious/confessional identity, ceremonies and rituals)

2027 Amanda Moniz, Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History (early America, humanitarianism)

2027 Matthew Restall, Penn State Univ. (colonial Latin America, Maya history)

2027 Anthony Steinhoff, Univ. du Québec à Montréal (modern Germany/France, modern European religion, Wagner/operatic culture in German-speaking Europe, urban)

Suggestions should be submitted by email to Please specify the academic or other position and the field of the individual, and include a brief statement of their qualifications for the position. Refer to the Statement on Diversity in AHA Nominations and Appointments (, which was drafted in the hope that it will encourage members to suggest more individuals from diverse backgrounds for both appointments and nominations. All suggestions received will be forwarded to the Nominating Committee for consideration at its meeting in February 2024.

Schedule for Nominations and Elections of AHA Officers

January 7, 2024 Deadline to make suggestions to executive director.

February 2024 Nominating Committee meets to determine slate.

March–April 2024 Slate published in Perspectives on History and Perspectives Daily.

June 1, 2024 Link to ballot emailed to AHA members.

July 15, 2024 Final deadline to record votes.

August–September 2024 Results announced in Perspectives on History and Perspectives Daily. Committee on Committees elected member begins term of office immediately.

January 5, 2025 Results announced at business meeting during 138th annual meeting in New York City.

January 6, 2025 Individuals begin terms of office.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.

Liz Townsend
Liz Townsend

American Historical Association