Publication Date

October 1, 2018

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

Under the AHA constitution and bylaws (Article VIII, Section 1; Article IX; and Bylaws 11 and 12), the executive director invites all members of the Association to submit to him, on or before January 6, 2019, recommendations for the following offices:


Vice President, Professional Division (member of the Council, oversight of the division)

Councilor, Professional Division, one position (Council—governance of the organization; division—responsible for overseeing matters concerning working conditions and practices of historians, primarily by articulating ethical standards and best practices in the historical discipline)

Councilor, Research Division, one position (Council—governance of the organization; division—responsible for promoting historical scholarship, encouraging the collection and preservation of historical documents and artifacts, ensuring equal access to information, and fostering the dissemination of information about historical records and research)

Councilor, Teaching Division, one position (Council—governance of the organization; division—responsible for the Council’s work relating to history education, including efforts to promote and improve teaching of history at all levels of education)

Nominating Committee, three positions (nominations for all elective posts)

Committee on Committees, one position (nominations for large number of Association committees, including book awards and prizes; member begins serving immediately after election)

Members of the Council and elective committees as of January 6, 2019, are listed below. Positions being replaced in the June 1–July 15, 2019, elections are in bold.

Unless otherwise indicated, terms expire in January of the listed year.


2020 Mary Beth Norton, Cornell Univ. (early Anglo-American gender and politics)

2021 John R. McNeill, Georgetown Univ. (environmental, world)

2022 Mary Lindemann, Univ. of Miami (early modern Europe, medicine)

Professional Division

2020 Kevin Boyle, vice president, Northwestern Univ. (20th-century US)

2020 Suzanne L. Marchand, councilor, Louisiana State Univ. (German theology/philology/history, 19th-century art and archaeology)

2021 Mary Elliott, councilor, National Museum of African American History and Culture (African American, migration and community development)

2022 Nerina Rustomji, councilor, St. John’s Univ., New York (Middle East, Islamic world)

Research Division

2020 Becky M. Nicolaides, councilor, independent scholar (history of American suburbs)

2021 Sophia Rosenfeld, vice president, Univ. of Pennsylvania (Enlightenment, Age of Revolutions, political thought, historical methods)

2021 Melissa K. Bokovoy, councilor, Univ. of New Mexico (Yugoslavia and memory, collectivization and eastern Europe)

2022 Christopher R. Boyer, councilor, Univ. of Illinois at Chicago (environmental and social history of Mexico)

Teaching Division

2020 Carlos A. Contreras, councilor, Grossmont Coll. (Mexico, US–Latin American relations)

2021 Craig Perrier, councilor, Fairfax County Public Schools (nationalism and education, US foreign policy with Brazilt)

2022 Laura McEnaney, vice president, Whittier Coll. (World War II and postwar, working class/gender/race)

2022 Alexandra Hui, councilor, Mississippi State Univ. (European science and culture, modern Germany, sensory and environment)

At Large

2021 Sarah Mellors, Missouri State Univ. (modern China, gender and sexuality, medicine, world)

Nominating Committee

2020 Purnima Dhavan, Univ. of Washington (Mughal literary cultures, early modern information networks)

2020 Laurent Dubois, Duke Univ. (Haitian revolution, Afro-Atlantic religion and cultural, Caribbean)

2020 Susannah R. Ottaway, Carleton Coll. (British social, European family)

2021 Kathleen Brosnan, Univ. of Oklahoma (environmental, transnational history of wine)

2021 Gabriel Paquette, Johns Hopkins Univ. (Spain and Portugal and their colonies, comparative imperial)

2021 Carin Berkowitz, New Jersey Council for the Humanities (modern British and American medical sciences and visual culture)

2022 Daniel Greene, Northwestern Univ. and guest curator, US Holocaust Memorial Museum (public history/museums, Holocaust/American response)

2022 Akiko Takenaka, Univ. of Kentucky (Japanese war responsibility/reconciliation, cultural heritage, gender)

2022 Karin Wulf, Omohundro Inst. of Early American History & Culture, Coll. of William & Mary (early America, women and gender, family)

Committee on Committees

7/2019 Antoinette M. Burton, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (British empire, world)

7/2020 Kaya Şahin, Indiana Univ. (early modern Ottoman history)

7/2021 Madeline Y. Hsu, Univ. of Texas at Austin (migration and transnationalism, international, Asian American studies, modern China)

7/2021 Jennifer L. Palmer, Univ. of Georgia (18th-century French slavery/race/gender)

Suggestions should be submitted by e-mail to Executive Director James Grossman at Please specify the academic or other position and the field of the individual, and include a brief statement of their qualifications for the position. Refer to the Statement on Diversity in AHA Nominations and Appointments, which was drafted in the hope that it will encourage members to suggest more individuals from diverse backgrounds for both appointments and nominations. All suggestions received will be forwarded to the Nominating Committee for consideration at its meeting on February 22 and 23, 2019.

Schedule for Nominations and Elections of AHA Officers

January 6, 2019 Deadline to make suggestions to executive director.

February 22–23, 2019 Nominating Committee meets to determine slate.

March–April 2019 Slate published online and in Perspectives on History.

June 1, 2019 Ballot emailed to AHA members.

July 15, 2019 Deadline to return ballots.

August–September 2019 Results announced online and in Perspectives on History. Committee on Committees elected member begins term of office immediately.

January 5, 2020 Results announced at business meeting during 134th annual meeting in New York.

January 6, 2020 Individuals begin terms of office.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.

Liz Townsend
Liz Townsend

American Historical Association