Publication Date

October 1, 2013

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities, News

Under the AHA Constitution and Bylaws (Article VIII, Section 1; Article IX; and Bylaws 11 and 12), the executive director invites all members of the Association to submit to him, on or before January 6, 2014, recommendations for the following offices:

President-elect (field other than US or Europe)

Vice President of the Research Division (member of the Council, oversight of the division)

Councilor Profession, one position (Council—governance of the organization; division—rights and responsibilities of historians, professional conduct, job market, data collection and analysis, and professional service prize)

Councilor Research, one position (Council—governance of the organization; division—priorities in support of research and new research tools, relationships with archivists, librarians, and other organizations, policy oversight of research grants and fellowships, book prizes, AHR, and annual meeting)

Councilor Teaching, one position (Council—governance of the organization; division—teaching in AHA activities and publications, history curriculum, new methods of instruction and cooperation, history education, and pamphlets, and policy oversight of teaching prizes)

Committee on Committees, two positions (nominations for large number of Association committees, including book awards and prizes, delegates)

Nominating Committee, three positions (nominations for all elective posts)

All suggestions received will be forwarded to the Nominating Committee for consideration at its meeting on February 8–9, 2014.

Present membership of the Council and elective committees is as follows with open positions indicated by the year and name in bold italic lettering:

Terms expire in January



2014 William Cronon, Univ. of Wisconsin–Madison (US environmental, US West, frontier, digital scholarship, the public practice of history), immediate past president

2015 Kenneth Pomeranz, Univ. of Chicago (late imperial and modern China; world and comparative history; social, economic, and environmental history; state formation; popular religion), president

2016 Jan Goldstein, Univ. of Chicago (modern European intellectual and cultural history in social and political context; modern France; history of the human sciences, including medicine; history of women, gender and sexuality; historiography), president-elect

Vice Presidents

2014 Jacqueline Jones, Univ. of Texas at Austin (US labor, southern, Civil War, African American, women's history), vice president, Professional Division

2015 John R. McNeill, Georgetown Univ. (environmental history, world history, Mediterranean history, Caribbean and Latin American history, international relations history), vice president, Research Division

2016 Elaine Carey, St. John's Univ. (Latin America, borderlands, Mexico, history of crime and drugs, human rights, gender), vice president, Teaching Division

Councilor Profession

2014 Sara Abosch, Dallas Holocaust Museum/Center for Education & Tolerance (modern Jewish social and cultural history, modern Jewish practice, Jewish identity formation, modern Britain, mandate Palestine, responses to modernity, Holocaust)

2015 Andrew J. Rotter, Colgate Univ. (US foreign relations, recent US, empire)

2016 Mary Louise Roberts, Univ. of Wisconsin–Madison (modern European history, gender and women, French history, Second World War)

Councilor Research

2014 Martha C. Howell, Columbia Univ. (social, economic, legal, and cultural history of urban societies, with particular focus on women and gender, in late medieval-­early modern northern France, the Low Countries, and northwestern Germany)

2015 Stephen Aron, UCLA and Autry National Center (North American frontiers, borderlands, West, early national US, world history)

2016 Randall M. Packard, Johns Hopkins Univ. (history of medicine, public health, history of international health, African history, history of disease)

Councilor Teaching

2014 Anne F. Hyde, Colorado Coll. (North America, race, history of the US, history of native nations, family history)

2015 Peter A. Porter Jr., Montville Township (NJ) High School and Seton Hall Univ. (Jacksonian and Reconstruction eras, early modern Europe, Romantic era, teaching American history in a global context)

2016 Joshua L. Reid, Univ. of Massachusetts Boston (American Indians, cultural meanings of space and place, the American and Canadian Wests, the environment, borderlands, the indigenous Pacific)


Committee on Committees

2014 John Connelly, Univ. of California, Berkeley (history of modern East Central Europe, history of Christianity, with emphasis on questions of race, Jewish­Christian relations)

2015 Mia Bay, Rutgers Univ.­New Brunswick (African American history, American cultural and intellectual history, African Diaspora, race and ethnicity)

2015 Suzanne Marchand, Louisiana State Univ. (modern European intellectual history, Germany, Habsburg Empire, history of scholarship, history of art)

2016 Jeffrey N. Wasserstrom, Univ. of California, Irvine (modern China, world, urban, gender, comparative revolutions and protest)

Nominating Committee

2014 Raúl A. Ramos, Univ. of Houston (American race and ethnicity, borderlands, Latino/a studies, American West), chair

2014 Sandra E. Greene, Cornell Univ. (pre-colonial and colonial African history, African diaspora, gender, religion, slavery)

2014 Pekka J. Hämäläinen, St. Catherine's Coll., Univ. of Oxford (early and 19th-­century America, Native American, borderlands, environmental, comparative)

2015 Moon-­Ho Jung, Univ. of Washington (United States, race, politics, empire, Asian American)

2015 Alida C. Metcalf, Rice Univ. (Latin America, colonial Latin America, Brazil)

2015 Dane K. Kennedy, George Washington Univ. (modern British and British imperial history, colonialism in Africa, India, and Australia)

2016 Takashi Fujitani, Univ. of Toronto (Japan, East Asia, Asian American, Asia Pacific Studies)

2016 Thavolia Glymph, Duke Univ. (19th­century US South; social, economic and labor history; southern women and gender; slavery, Civil War and Reconstruction; comparative emancipation, global history)

2016 Sophia Rosenfeld, Univ. of Virginia (early modern Europe, especially France; intellectual and cultural; history of political theory; age of revolutions)

See also the ballot material for the 2013 election sent to the membership on September 1. The slate was published in the April 2013 Perspectives on History.

Suggestions should be submitted to James Grossman, Executive Director, AHA, 400 A St. SE, Washington, DC 20003. Please specify academic or other position and field of the individual; include also a brief statement of his or her qualifications for the particular position for which you are recommending the person.

— is AHA director, meetings and administrative operations.

Schedule for Nominations and Election of AHA Officers

January 6, 2014: Deadline for suggestions to executive director.

February 8–9, 2014: Nominating Committee meets to determine slate.

April 2014: Slate published inPerspectives on History.

May 2014: Ballot material sent to all AHA members.

July 15, 2014: Deadline for return of ballots

January 4, 2015: Election results announced at business meeting during 129th annual meeting scheduled for New York City.

January 5, 2015: Individuals begin terms of office.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.