Publication Date

October 1, 2010

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

Under the AHA constitution and bylaws (Article VIII, Section 1; Article IX; and Bylaws 11 and 12), the executive director invites all members of the Association to submit, on or before January 7, 2011, recommendations for the following offices:

President-elect (field other than U.S. or Europe)

Vice president of the Research Division (member of the Council, oversight of the division)

Councilor Professional, one position (Council—governance of the organization; division—rights and responsibilities of historians, professional conduct, job market, data collection and analysis, and professional service prize)

Councilor Research, one position (Council—governance of the organization; division—priorities in support of research and new research tools, relationships with archivists, librarians, and other organizations, policy oversight of research grants and fellowships, book prizes, AHR, and annual meeting)

Councilor Teaching, one position (Council—governance of the organization; division—teaching in AHA activities and publications, history curriculum, new methods of instruction and cooperation, history education, and pamphlets, and policy oversight of teaching prizes)

Committee on Committees, two positions (nominations for large number of Association committees, including book awards and prizes, delegates)

Nominating Committee, three positions (nominations for all elective posts)

All suggestions received will be forwarded to the Nominating Committee for consideration at its January 29–30, 2011, meeting. Present membership of the Council and elective committees is as follows with open positions indicated by the year and name in bold blue italic lettering.

Terms expire in January each year (on the day of the Business Meeting).


2011: Laurel Thatcher Ulrich, Harvard Univ. (early America, comparative women’s, material culture), immediate past president

2012: Barbara Metcalf, Univ. of California, Davis, emerita (modern South Asian history, Indo-Muslim history, Islam), president

2013: Anthony Grafton, Princeton Univ. (Renaissance Europe, intellectual and cultural history, history of science, history of scholarship and education), president-elect

2011: Trudy Huskamp Peterson,* consulting archivist (archives, agricultural, human rights), vice president, Professional Division

2012: Iris Berger, Univ. at Albany- SUNY (Africa, comparative women’s, labor and working-class), vice president, Research Division

2013: Patricia Nelson Limerick, Univ. of Colorado, Boulder (American West, environment, ethnicity, politics), vice president, Teaching Division

At-large member

2011: Prasenjit Duara, National Univ. of Singapore (modern China, East Asia, nationalism, imperialism, transnationalism, historiography and historical pedagogy)

Councilor Profession

2012: Sarah Maza, Northwestern Univ. (19th-, and 20th-century France, methodology)

2013: Laura Isabel Serna, Univ. of Southern California (cultural, transnational, film)

Councilor Research

2012: John K. Thornton, Boston Univ. (Africa, Atlantic, world)

2013: Thomas J. Sugrue, Univ. of Pennsylvania (20th-century U.S., urban, political, civil rights, comparative race and ethnicity)

Councilor Teaching

2012: Barbara L. Tischler, Horace Mann School, N.Y. (American cultural, the 1960s, women’s, labor, teaching practice)

2013: Cheryll Ann Cody, Houston Community College Southwest (19th-century American South, plantation societies, demography, family and women’s history) Divisions Professional

2011: Kristin L. Ahlberg, U.S. Dept. of State (U.S. diplomatic/foreign relations, presidency, foreign assistance policy, public, twentieth century, cultural, documentary editing)

2012: Sarah Maza

2013: Laura Isabel Serna Research

2011: Mary Elizabeth Berry, Univ. of California, Berkeley (medieval and early modern Japan, warfare and violence, urban, print culture, economic thought and consumption)

2012: John K. Thornton

2013: Thomas J. Sugrue


2011: Timothy N. Thurber, Virginia Commonwealth Univ. (U. S. post–World War II, African American)

2012: Barbara L. Tischler

2013: Cheryll Ann Cody


Committee on Committees

2011: Christopher Leslie Brown, Columbia Univ. (early imperial and 18th-century Britain, comparative slavery and abolition, Atlantic, American Revolution)

2012: Lloyd S. Kramer, Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (modern European cultural and intellectual history with an emphasis on 19th-century France)

2012: Kriste Lindenmeyer, Univ. of Maryland, Baltimore County (U.S. social with an emphasis on public policy, the history of childhood, and women and gender during the late 19th and early 20th centuries)

2013: Jorge Cañizares-Esguerra, Univ. of Texas at Austin (Atlantic history, Latin American colonial history, history of science)

Nominating Committee

2011: Lisa Forman Cody, Claremont McKenna Coll. (early modern and modern Britain, France, and Europe; history of medicine, life sciences, political economy; history of gender, sexuality, the body, and selfhood; history of visual arts and architecture; history and literature; history of performing arts)

2011: David G. Gutierrez, Univ. of California, San Diego (Chicano/Latino, comparative immigration, ethnic politics, civil rights) 2011: David S. Newbury, Smith Coll. (social, environmental, historiography, history of violence, Central Africa)

2012: Carol Anderson, Emory Univ. (diplomatic, 20th-century U.S., African American)

2012: Marshall C. Eakin, Vanderbilt Univ. (Latin America, with emphasis on Brazil and Central America; nationalism and nation-building, history of industrialization)

2012: Poshek Fu, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (modern Chinese history, history of Hong Kong, Chinese diaspora, war and culture, popular culture, pan-Chinese and pan-Asian cinemas)

2013: Jan Ellen Lewis, Rutgers Univ.-Newark (early America, early national U.S., gender, race, political thought)

2013: Page Herrlinger, Bowdoin Coll. (modern Russia, Russian Orthodox culture and identity, labor and revolutionary movements, women’s and gender history, socialist culture)

2013: Julia Adeney Thomas, Univ. of Notre Dame (modern Japan, intellectual and political history, visual culture and photography, concepts of nature and environmental protection)

See also the ballot material for the 2010 elections sent to the membership on September 1, 2010, and the ballot slate published in the April 2010 Perspectives on History.

Suggestions should be submitted to James R. Grossman, Executive Director, AHA, 400 A Street SE, Washington, D.C. 20003-3889. Please specify academic or other position and field of the individual; include also a brief statement of his or her qualifications for the particular position for which you are recommending the person.

*Appointed by the AHA Council to complete the term of Vice President David J. Weber, Southern Methodist Univ., who died on August 20, 2010.

is assistant director, administration, for the American Historical Association.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.