Publication Date

October 1, 2000

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

Under the bylaws pursuant to Article VIII, Sections 2, 3, and 4 of the AHA constitution, the executive director invites all members of the Association to submit to her, on or before January 15, 2001, recommendations for the following offices:

President-elect (by rotation, U.S.)

Vice President of the Professional Division (oversight of the division, member of the Council)

Council, two positions (governance of the AHA)

Professional Division, one position (rights and responsibilities of historians, professional conduct, job market, status of women and minorities, data collection and analysis, membership, and professional service prizes)

Research Division, one position (priorities in support of research and new research tools, relationships with archivists, librarians, and other organizations, policy oversight of research grants and fellowships, book prizes, AHR, and annual meeting)

Teaching Division, one position (teaching in AHA activities and publications, history curriculum, new methods of instruction and cooperation, history education, and pamphlets, and policy oversight of teaching prizes)

Committee on Committees, one position (nominations for large number of Association committees, including book awards and prizes, delegates)

Nominating Committee, three positions (nominations for all elective posts)

All suggestions received will be forwarded to the Nominating Committee for consideration at its meeting next February. Present membership of the Council and elective committees is as follows, with open positions indicated by the year and name in bold italic lettering.

Terms expire in January of the year indicated.


2001 Robert Darnton, Princeton Univ. (early modern Europe, 18th-century France, history of the book, anthropology, cultural history), immediate past president

2002 Eric Foner, Columbia Univ. (19th-century American history, American political culture, African American, American radical and reform movements), president

2003 Wm. Roger Louis, Univ. of Texas at Austin (British Empire, modern British history, expansion of Europe, decolonization in Asia, Middle East, Africa), president-elect

2001 Leon Fink, Univ. of Illinois at Chicago (U.S. comparative labor, Gilded Age and Progressive Era, American political culture, occupational folklore, history of intellectuals), vice president, Teaching Division

2002 Barbara D. Metcalf, Univ. of California at Davis (South Asian and comparative history, Islamic studies), vice president, Professional Division

2003 Gabrielle Spiegel, Johns Hopkins Univ. (medieval historiography, French medieval history, historiography, critical theory), vice president, Research Division

2001 Nadine Ishitani Hata, El Camino Community Coll. (Asia Pacific, Asian-Pacific American, U.S. social, historic preservation of California)

2001 Marilyn Young, NYU (U.S.-East Asian relations, modern China, Third World women's)

2002 Linda Shopes, Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission (U.S. social and cultural, especially late 19th and 20th centuries, public/community history, oral history)

2002 Vicki L. Ruiz, Arizona State Univ. (Chicano history, U.S. women's, U.S.-Mexico border, 20th-century American West, labor, immigration studies)

2003 Lillian Guerra, Bates College (modern Latin America [19th and 20th centuries], Caribbean area, Latino diaspora, political economy, culture, and revolution)

2003 David W. Blight, Amherst Coll. (African American, Civil War and Reconstruction, American intellectual and cultural, historical memory)

Divisional Members


2001 James Grossman, Newberry Library (U.S. since the Civil War)

2002 Charles Anthony Zappia, San Diego Mesa Coll. (U.S. labor, social, ethnic)

2003 Allen F. Isaacman, Univ. of Minnesota (African history, southern and central African social history, comparative peasant studies, rural social protest, oral history, and historical memory)


2001 Gale Stokes, Rice Univ. (19th- and 20th-century East European political)

2002 Richard L. Greaves, Florida State Univ. (early modern England and Scotland, Restoration Ireland, world history)

2003 Mark L. Kornbluh, Michigan State Univ. (modern America, politics, educational and communication technology)


2001 Nupur Chaudhuri, Texas Southern Univ. (British colonial, British women, India)

2002 Maxine Neustadt Lurie, Seton Hall Univ. (colonial America, American Revolution, New Jersey history)

2003 John Pyne,West Milford Township Public Schools (U.S. history, 20th-century, Woodrow Wilson, history and social studies teaching and standards)

Committee on Committees

2001 Madeleine Zelin, Columbia Univ. (modern Chinese, Chinese social and social movements, Chinese economic, Chinese legal, comparative legal, modern Chinese literature and translation)

2002 William B. Taylor, Univ. of California at Berkeley (Latin America, especially the colonial period and modern Mexico, American representations of Mexico, peasant studies, church and religion)

2003 Cynthia B. Herrup, Duke Univ. (early modern Britain, Europe, legal, social)

2003 Eileen Boris, Univ. of Virginia (20th-century United States, women and gender, U.S. labor, African American)

Nominating Committee

2001 Michael Les Benedict, Ohio State Univ. (American legal and constitutional, Civil War and Reconstruction, Gilded Age)

2001 Philip D. Morgan, Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture, Coll. of William and Mary (early America, early Caribbean, African American, Atlantic)

2001 Helen Lefkowitz Horowitz, Smith Coll. (U.S. cultural, U.S. history of women, U.S. history of higher education, history of the landscape)

2002 Sara T. Nalle, William Paterson Univ. (early modern Spain, early modern European cultural and religious)

2002 Allison Blakely, Howard Univ. (modern Europe, Russia, comparative populism, African diaspora)

2002 Donald Teruo Hata Jr., California State Univ. at Dominguez Hills (modern Japan, Asian-Pacific American, U.S. social-cultural, history of education)

2003 Michael Adas, Rutgers Univ. (comparative colonial history, history of technology, modern world history)

2003 Gary Kates, Trinity Univ., San Antonio (18th-century Europe, French Revolution, gender, modern European intellectual)

2003 Susan Schroeder, Tulane Univ. (social history of native peoples of early Mexico, Nahuatl philology, Meso-American colonial history, education, Jesuits, music, women)

See also the ballot material for the 2000 elections mailed to the membership in late August, the slate of which was published in the April 2000 Perspectives.

Suggestions should be submitted to Arnita A. Jones, Executive Director, AHA, 400 A Street SE, Washington, DC 20003-3889. Please specify academic or other position and field of the individual; include also a brief statement of his or her qualifications for the particular position for which you are recommending the person.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.