Publication Date

April 1, 2012

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities, News

The for 2012–13, chaired by Page Herrlinger (Bowdoin Coll.), which met in Washington, D.C., on January 28–29, 2012, offers the following candidates for offices of the Association that are to be filled in the election this year:

President (1-year term)

  • Kenneth Pomeranz, University of California, Irvine (late imperial and modern China; world and comparative history; social, economic, and environmental history; state formation; popular religion)

President-Elect (one-year term)

  • Geoff Eley, University of Michigan (modern Germany, Britain, Europe, historiography, history and film, nationalism, fascism and the right, history of the left)

  • Jan E. Goldstein, University of Chicago (modern European intellectual and cultural history in social and political context, modern France, history of the human sciences)

Vice President, Teaching Division (three-year term)

  • Amy N. Burnett, University of Nebraska-Lincoln (early modern Europe, specialization in the German/Swiss Reformation)

  • Elaine Carey, St. John’s University (Latin America, Mexico, Borderlands, history of crime and drugs, human rights, gender)

Council/Divisions (three-year terms)

Councilor Profession

  • Mary Louise Roberts, University of Wisconsin–Madison (women and gender, France, Second World War)

  • Daniel Lord Smail, Harvard University (material culture, history and anthropology of law and justice 1200–1600, urban, southern France, Italy, Mediterranean, historiography, natural history and neurohistory)

Councilor Research

  • Ross H. Frank, University of California, San Diego (settler and Indian society and economy in Northern New Spain; native material culture and cultural change in the Plains and Great Lakes-Eastern Woodlands regions; California Indian sovereignty and technology; indigenous epistemologies)

  • Randall M. Packard, Johns Hopkins University (social history of disease and healing in Africa, history of public health, history of colonial and post-colonial medicine)

Councilor Teaching

  • Brian Murphy, Baruch College-CUNY (colonial and early national U.S., economic, political economy)

  • Joshua L. Reid, University of Massachusetts Boston (American Indians, identity formation, cultural meanings of space and place, the American and Canadian Wests, the environment, and the indigenous Pacific)

Committee on Committees (3-year term)

  • Mark D. Steinberg, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (late imperial and revolutionary Russia, popular culture, urban history, religion, revolution)

  • Jeffrey Wasserstrom, University of California, Irvine (modern China, world)

Nominating Committee (3-year terms)

Slot 1

  • Paul M. Cobb, University of Pennsylvania (medieval Islamic, the Crusades, medieval Arabic literature)

  • Takashi Fujitani, University of Toronto (Japan, East Asia, Asian American, Asia-Pacific Studies)

Slot 2

  • Mary Kupiec Cayton, Miami University (19th century U.S., especially social, cultural and intellectual; religion in the U.S.; print and communications in the U.S.; historical methods, theories, and models)

  • Thavolia Glymph, Duke University (19th-century U.S. South, U.S. Civil War and Reconstruction, Southern women’s and gender, labor and working class)

Slot 3

  • Lisa A. Kirschenbaum, West Chester University (social and cultural history of Russia, with an emphasis on issues of women, family, and memory)

  • Sophia Rosenfeld, University of Virginia (17th- to early 19th-century France and Europe, early modern European and American intellectual; Age of Revolution)

Nominations may also be made by petition carrying in each case the signatures of 100 or more members of the Association in good standing and indicating in each case the particular vacancy for which the nomination is intended. Nominations by petition must be in the hands of the Nominating Committee on or before July 1, and should be sent to the AHA office at 400 A Street S.E., Washington, D.C. 20003. All nominations must be accompanied by certification of willingness of the nominee to serve if elected. In distributing the annual ballot to the members of the Association, the Nominating Committee shall present and identify such candidates nominated by petition along with its own candidates. Balloting will begin September 1 and end at 11:59 pm, EDT on November 1, 2012.

Schedule of Nominations and Elections for AHA Officers

  • April 2012: Slate published inPerspectives on History.

  • July 1, 2012: Deadline for nominations by petition, if any.

  • August 31, 2012: Ballot material sent to current AHA members.

  • November 1, 2012: Deadline for return of ballots.

  • January 5, 2013: Election results announced at business meeting during the 127th annual meeting scheduled for New Orleans.

  • January 6, 2013: Individuals begin terms of office.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.