Publication Date

April 1, 2011

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

The for 2011–12, chaired by Carol Anderson (Emory Univ.), met in Washington, D.C., on January 29–30, 2011, and offers the following candidates for offices of the Association that are to be filled in the election this year:

President (1-year term)

  • William J. Cronon, University of Wisconsin-Madison (U.S. environmental, U.S. West, frontier, digital scholarship, the public practice of history)

President-Elect (1-year term)

  • Kenneth Pomeranz, University of California, Irvine (modern China, world, economic, environmental)
  • Odd Arne Westad, London School of Economics (contemporary international history, East Asia)

Vice President, Research Division (3-year term)

  • Pamela Kyle Crossley, Dartmouth College (Qing Empire, central and inner Asia, global)
  • John R. McNeill, Georgetown University (environmental, world, international)

Council/Divisions (3-year terms)

Councilor Profession

  • Andrew J. Rotter, Colgate University (U.S. foreign relations, recent U.S., Vietnam War)
  • K. Scott Wong, Williams College (citizenship in immigration history, history and historical memory, “Pro-Chinese Movement” in late-19th and early 20th-century America)

Councilor Research

  • Stephen Aron, UCLA and Autry National Center (North American frontiers and American West, early national U.S., world)
  • James F. Brooks, School for Advanced Research, Santa Fe (ethnohistory, borderlands, comparative colonial and indigenous, and theory)

Councilor Teaching

  • John A. King Jr., Ransom Everglades School, Miami (world, Latin America, United States)
  • Peter A. Porter Jr., Montville Township (N.J.) High School and Seton Hall University (Jacksonian era, political emphasis)

Committee on Committees (3-year terms)

Slot 1

  • Suzanne Marchand, Louisiana State University (history of the humanities, especially classical studies, art history, anthropology, philosophy in modern Europe)
  • Londa Schiebinger, Stanford University (early modern history [Germany, France, England and the West Indies], colonial science, history of women’s participation in science [Europe and the West Indies, 18th century to the present]; structure of scientific institutions; gendering of human knowledge)

Slot 2

  • Mia Bay, Rutgers University-New Brunswick (African American intellectual and cultural; American intellectual and cultural; African Diaspora)
  • Philip Morgan, Johns Hopkins University (early America, Atlantic, slavery)

Nominating Committee (3-year terms)

Slot 1

  • Moon-Ho Jung, University of Washington (race, politics, Asian America)
  • Martin Summers, Boston College (African American and African Diaspora, gender and sexuality, race and mental illness)

Slot 2

  • Walter Hawthorne, Michigan State University (Africa, Brazil, the Atlantic, early modern)
  • Alida C. Metcalf, Rice University (Latin America, Brazil)

Slot 3

  • Herrick Chapman, New York University (France, modern Europe)
  • Dane K. Kennedy, George Washington University (British Empire, colonialism in Africa and India, modern Britain)

Nominations may also be made by petition carrying in each case the signatures of one hundred or more members of the Association in good standing and indicating in each case the particular vacancy for which the nomination is intended. Nominations by petition must be in the hands of the Nominating Committee on or before July 1. All nominations must be accompanied by certification of willingness of the nominee to serve if elected. In distributing the annual ballot to the members of the Association, the Nominating Committee shall present and identify such candidates nominated by petition along with its own candidates.

Schedule for Nomination and Election of AHA Officers

  • April 2011: Slate published in Perspectives on History.
  • July 1, 2011: Deadline for nominations by petition, if any.
  • August 31, 2011: Ballot material sent to current AHA members.
  • November 1, 2011: Deadline for return of ballots.
  • January 7, 2012: Election results announced at the business meeting during the 126th annual meeting scheduled for Chicago.
  • January 8, 2012: Individuals begin terms of office.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.