Publication Date

October 1, 2006

Ronald H. Bayor (Georgia Tech.) was presented the Lifetime Achievement Award of the Association for Asian American Studies at its conference in March 2006. The award is for his effort in encouraging research in this field as editor of the Journal of American Ethnic History.

David R. Carr (Univ. of South Florida at St. Petersburg) has been named editor of The Historian, the quarterly journal of the history honor society, Phi Alpha Theta.

Peter Loewenberg (UCLA) was the Sir Peter Ustinov Guest Professor at the Institute for Contemporary History, University of Vienna, for the summer semester 2006.

Nadia Smith (Boston Coll.) has published "A Manly Study?" Irish Women Historians, 1868–1949 (Palgrave, 2006). The first monograph on Irish female historians, the book contributes to the study of women historians in an international context, and addresses debates about gender and history as well as modern Irish historiography.

Craig L. Symonds won an honorary mention in U.S. naval history as part of the North American Society for Oceanic History’s John Lyman Book Awards for his Decision at Sea: Five Naval Battles that Shaped American History (Oxford University Press). The award was announced at the NASOH’s annual meeting, held in Manitowoc, Wisconsin, June 1–4, 2006.

Hakeem I. Tijani has edited a new book, Nigeria's Urban History: Past and Present (Lanham, Md.: University Press of America, 2006).

John Harley Warner has been named Avalon Professor of the History of Medicine at Yale University, where he is also professor of history and of American studies.

The following AHA members were named Archie K. Davis Fellows for 2006–07:Wayne K. Durrill (Univ. of Connecticut),John Thomas McGuire (Tompkins-Cortland Community Coll.), Gregory L. Mixon (Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte), Patrick O'Neil (Univ. of North Carolina), Jeffery Lynn Roberts (Sam Houston State Univ.), David A. Silkenat (Univ. of North Carolina), Robert S. Thompson (Univ. of Houston), andCarole Watterson Troxler (Elon Univ.). Information on the fellowships, which provide travel assistance to scholars conducting research in North Carolina’s history and culture, may be found online at or by mail from Dr. H. G. Jones, Secretary, North Caroliniana Society, University of North Carolina, Campus Box 3930, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-8890. The deadline for applications is March 1 annually.

At its ninth annual members meeting, held June 13, 2006, at Mount Vernon, VA, the Army Historical Foundation recognized several books and articles as outstanding achievements in writing on U.S. Army history. The following AHA members were recognized:

Timothy K. Nenninger (National Archives) was recognized for his article “John J. Pershing and Relief for Cause in the American Expeditionary Forces, 1917–18,” published in Army History, spring 2005.

John M. Shaw (Portland Community Coll.) was recognized for work in the field of U.S. Army history, 1899–2005. His book is entitledThe Cambodian Campaign: The 1970 Offensive and America's Vietnam War (Univ.Press of Kansas).

At the Business History Conference annual meeting in Toronto, June 10, 2006, the officers announced the recipients of BHC prizes and grants. The following AHA members won awards:

K. Austin Kerr (Ohio State Univ.) won the Business History Conference Lifetime Achievement Award, which is bestowed every two or three years to a nominee who has contributed the most to the work of the Business History Conference and to scholarship in business history.

Pamela Laird (Univ. of Colorado at Denver) won the Howard F. Williamson Prize, awarded every two to three years to a mid-career scholar who has made significant contributions to the field of business history. Laird also won the Hagley Prize, awarded jointly by the Hagley Musuem and Library and the Business History Conference to the best book in business history written in English and published during the two years prior to the award. Laird won forPull: Networking and Success since Benjamin Franklin (Harvard Univ. Press, 2005).

Michelle Craig McDonald (Harvard Business Sch.) won the K. Austin Kerr Prize which recognizes the best first paper delivered at the annual meeting of the BHC by a new scholar (defined as a doctoral student or someone three years of receiving the PhD). McDonald won for her “The Drink of Diplomats: Government Intervention in the U.S. Coffee Re-Export Trade, 1790–1805.”

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation recently announced the winners of its 82nd annual United States and Canadian fellowship competition. The following AHA members are recipients of these prestigious fellowships:

Paul M. Cobb (Univ. of Notre Dame) for his work on Usama bin Munqidh’s memoirs and the Muslims in the age of the Crusades

Paula S. Fass (Univ. of California, Berkeley) for her work on parents and children in American history, 1800–2000.

Louis Galambos (Johns Hopkins Univ.) for his work on the Creative Society.

Dena Goodman* (Univ. of Michigan) for work on women’s letter-writing in the 18th century.

Daniel James (Indiana Univ.) for his work on class, ethnicity, and identity formation in an Argentine meatpacking community.

Diane P. Koenker (Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) for her work on proletarian tourism and vacations in the USSR.

Brooke Larson (Stony Brook Univ.) for work on Aymara Indians and struggles over power, knowledge, and identity in the Bolivian Andes.

Anthony J. La Vopa (North Carolina State Univ.) for work on the labor of the mind and the specter of effeminacy in Enlightenment cultures.

Allen Wells (Bowdoin Coll.) for work on General Trujillo, Franklin D Roosevelt, and the Jews of Sosua.

Julian Zelizer (Boston Univ.) for work on national security politics from the Cold War to the war on terrorism.

*Dena Goodman's name was misspelled in the print version of the October Perspectives.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.