Publication Date

October 1, 2002

Perspectives Section


Editor's Note: The purpose of this column, which is published in Perspectivesas space permits, is to recognize and honor the accomplishments of AHA members. Submissions are welcome; entries will be published in alphabetical order. To submit an entry, write to Cecelia J. Dadian, Senior Editor, AHA, 400 A St., SE, Washington, DC 20003-3889.

David Cressy (Ohio State Univ.) delivered the Homer J. Crotty Memorial lecture at the Huntington Library, San Marino, California, on March 13, 2002, on the topic, “Revolutionary England, 1640–1642.”

Chester S. L. Dunning (Texas A&M Univ.) and his team of researchers have been awarded a Collaborative Research Grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities to complete work on the “Uncensored Boris Godunov: An Annotated Edition of Pushkin’s Original Comedy.” Dunning also won an Association of Former Students’ Distinguished Achievement Award for Teaching and a College-level Teaching Award. He further received an AMOCO Award for Distinguished Teaching.

A. Roger Ekirch (Virginia Polytechnic Inst.) is the recipient of the 2001–02 Clifford Prize awarded annually by the American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies for the best article regarding any aspect of eighteenth-century culture. Ekirch’s article entitled “Sleep We Have Lost: Pre-Industrial Slumber in the British Isles” was published by the American Historical Review.

Carol Gluck (Columbia Univ.) has been honored with the Fulbright Program 50th Anniversary Distinguished Scholar Award by the Japan-United States Educational Commission, in recognition of her “scholarship of the highest order” and contributions to international understanding “in the true Fulbright Spirit.”

Stephen Karetzky (Felician Coll.) has published Not Seeing in Red: AmericanLibrarianship and the Soviet Union, 1917-1960 (University Press of America, 2002). It is one of the few analyses of how a profession reacted to the USSR.

Warren F. Kimball (Rutgers Univ.) Robert Treat Professor of History at Rutgers University, has been appointed a Mark W. Clark Distinguished Visiting Professor of History at the Citadel in Charleston, South Carolina.

W. Barksdale Maynard (independent scholar) has received the Founders’ Award from the Society of Architectural Historians for the best article in their journal by a junior scholar. He has also received an award from the Graham Foundation for Advanced Study in the Fine Arts for his book, Architecture in the United States, 1800-1850 (Yale Univ. Press, 2002).

Martin V. Melosi (Univ. of Houston) won the Excellence in Research and Scholarship Award for full professors (2002) at the University of Houston. The award is university-wide and is given annually to one person at each academic rank. More recently, Melosi received the Sidney Edelstein Prize from the Society for the History of Technology for his book, The Sanitary City.

Linda Miller (Fairfax High School, Virginia) was named the first recipient of the National Peace Educator Award by the National Peace Corps Association for her work in promoting peace and international understanding. The award was named in honor of the teachers who died on September 11, 2001.

Charles O'Brien (Western Illinois Univ.) has published Black Gold (Poisoned Pen Press, 2002), the second in a series of historical mystery novels set in England and France on the eve of the French Revolution. The slave trade’s impact on British society figures prominently in the story.

Barbara Bennett Peterson (Oregon State Univ.) was nominated for the 2001 Pulitzer Prize in Biography, for her book entitled Notable Women of China (M.E. Sharpe Publisher). Part of the book’s proceeds go to worldwide children’s charities. Peterson was formerly emeritus professor at the Univ. of Hawaii and a fellow at the East-West Center.

Jonathan Rose (Drew Univ.) has been awarded the Jacques Barzun Prize in Cultural History, the SHARP (Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing) Book History Prize, and the New Jersey Council for the Humanities Book Award for his book The Intellectual Life of the British Working Classes (Yale Univ. Press, 2001). It was also nominated for the Samuel Johnson Prize.

Recipients of various grants/fellowships awarded by the Hagley Museum and Library Center for the History of Business, Technology, and Society include the following AHA members. Their names are followed by their affiliation and topic.

Brett Gadsen (Northwestern Univ.) “A Northern State with a Southern Exposure: The Controversies over the Desegregation of Public Education in Delaware”

Pamela Laird (Univ. of Colorado at Denver) “Uncovering Social Capital in American Business History: The Social Factors in Success”

Cristina Nelson (Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) “Figuring the American Woman: The Business of Constructing, Marketing, and Purchasing Women’s Underwear, 1940–1970”

Kim Phillips-Fein (Columbia Univ.) “The Roots of Reaganism: Business Backlash in the Liberal Age”

Paul Taillon (Univ. of Auckland) “Brothers and Breadwinners : The Making of Conservative Unionism in the U.S. Railroad Industry, 1877–1926”

Christopher Tassava (Northwestern Univ.) “Launching a Thousand Ships: Wartime Shipbuilding and American State Enterprise, 1940–1950”

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.