Publication Date

May 1, 2004

Perspectives Section


Editor's Note: The purpose of this column, which is published in Perspectives as space permits, is to recognize and honor the accomplishments of AHA members. Submissions are welcome; entries will be published in alphabetical order. To submit an entry, write to David Darlington, Associate Editor, AHA, 400 A Street, SE, Washington, DC 20003-3889.

Omar H. Ali, visiting scholar at the Institute for Research in African American Studies at Columbia University, has been appointed assistant professor at Towson University in Baltimore. His book, Black Populism in the New South, 1886–98, will be published by the University Press of Mississippi.

E. Wayne Carp (Pacific Lutheran Univ.) published Adoption Politics: Bastard Nation and Ballot Initiative 58 (Univ. Press of Kansas).

David Shanet Clark (Georgia State Univ.) has won the E.I. Woodruff Fellowship in Southern History. He will present “Seceding from Secession: Geographic Factors in the Partition of Virginia and West Virginia 1861–63” at the OAH regional conference in Atlanta on July 11, 2004.

Hasia Diner, the Paul S. and Sylvia Steinberg Professor of American Jewish history at New York University, has been named director of the Goldstein-Goren Center for American Jewish History. The center, which opened in December 2003, concerns itself with the mutual impact of the United States and the Jewish people. One of the central missions of the center is the funding of graduate student fellowships to train the next generation of leading scholars in this field. The Goldstein-Goren Center will also sponsor scholarly conferences and publications that explore the many relationships forged between American Jewry and wider developments in American society and culture. The center plans to focus on study of the Jewish people as an element in a diverse polity and to consider the ways in which Jews interacted with America as a society constituted by many religious and ethnic groups.

Jolanta T. Pekacz (Dalhousie Univ.) received the 2003 American Association for the Advancement of Slavic Studies/Orbis book prize for her book Music in the Culture of Polish Galica, 1772–1914. The prize is given annually for an outstanding English-language book on any aspect of Polish affairs.

Hal Smith, an AHA member, and co-author Judith McArthur, both at the University of Houston-Victoria, have been awarded the Texas State Historical Association’s 2004 Liz Carpenter prize for the best book on Texas women’s history for their volume,Minnie Fisher Cunningham: A Suffragist's Life in Politics (Oxford Univ. Press, 2003). They have also won the Texas Historical Commission’s T.R. Fehrenbach Prize for the best scholarly book on Texas history published in 2003.

The Newberry Library awarded several historians fellowships for the 2003–04 academic year. The following AHA members were fellowship recipients:

Carolyn Eastman (Univ. of Texas at Austin) was named the Lloyd Lewis Fellow in American History.

Clara Sue Kidwell (Univ. of Oklahoma) was named the Rockefeller Foundation Fellow in the Humanities.

Jeffrey David Means (Univ. of Oklahoma) was named the Susan Kelly Power and Helen Hornbeck Tanner Fellow.

Gregory Nobles (Georgia Institute of Tech.) was named a Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow in the Humanities.

Jeffrey Sklansky (Oregon State Univ.) was named the National Endowment for the Humanities Fellow.

Deborah Ann Skok (Hendrix Coll.) was named the Center for Great Lakes Culture/Michigan State University Fellow.

Owen Stanwood (Northwestern Univ.) was named a Committee on Institutional Cooperation Graduate Student Fellow.

Dror Wahrman (Indiana Univ.) was named the American Council of Learned Societies Frederick Burkhardt Fellow.

Michael Wintroub (Univ. of Michigan) won the Weiss/Brown Publican Subvention Award for A Savage Mirror: Power, Identity, and Knowledge in Early Modern France (Stanford Univ. Press).

Carl Abbot (Portland State Univ.),Daniel M. Cobb (Univ. of Oklahoma), James R. Green (Univ. of Massachusetts, Boston), April L. Hatfield (Texas A&M Univ.), Charles D. McGraw (Univ. of Connecticut), Robert M. Morrissey (Yale Univ.), Rachel O'Toole (Villanova Univ.), and Nicolas G. Rosenthal (UCLA) were named Newberry Library Short-Term Resident Fellows.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.