Publication Date

March 1, 1996

Monticello International Center for Jefferson Studies

AHA members currently serving on the advisory committee for the center are

Joyce O. Appleby (Univ. of California at Los Angeles), president-elect, AHA
Charles T. Cullen (Newberry Library)
Noble E. Cunningham, Jr. (Univ. of Missouri)
Peter S. Onuf (Univ. of Virginia)
Merrill D. Peterson (Univ. of Virginia)
Dell T. Upton (Univ. of California at Berkeley)
Gordon S. Wood (Brown Univ.)

Wilson Foundation Fellows Receive Honors

Henry Abelove (Wesleyan Univ.), WWF ’66, received a 1995 Guggenheim Fellowship.
Richard W. Couper, president emeritus of the Woodrow Wilson Foundation and of the New York Public Library, was honored for his efforts as cofounder of the Research Libraries Group and as immediate past president of Phi Beta Kappa Associates. An endowed lectureship in his name will be given at the associates annual meeting.
Jehuda Reinharz, WWF ’70, has been named president of Brandeis Univ.
Richard McCormick, WWF ’69, has been named president of the Univ. of Washington.

Rima Apple (Univ. of Wisconsin) was awarded a 1996 American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists-Ortho Fellowship in the History of American Obstetrics and Gynecology. Her project is entitled “The Perfect Mother: Mothers and Physicians, 1850-1990.”

Ruth Alexander (Colorado State Univ.) received a Schlesinger Library Research Support Grant for “From Domestic Reform to Foreign Relations: American Women Reformers and International Affairs, 1900-1965.”

Arnold Blumberg (Towson State Univ.) received the 1995 President’s Award for Distinguished Service to the University. He served as editor of a work titled Great Leaders, Great Tyrants: Contemporary Views of World Rulers Who Made History, Greenwood Press (1995).

Mary Maples Dunn has been named director of the Carl and Lily Pforzheimer Foundation of the Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America. Dunn was most recently president of Smith College. Earlier, she was professor, dean, and academic deputy to the president at Bryn Mawr. She has taught and published on women’s history since the early 1970s and plans to write a history of the Berkshire Conference of Women Historians. The Schlesinger Library holds the archive of the Berkshire Conference.

Thomas R. Dunlap (Texas A & M Univ.) has been elected vice president of the Forest History Society, Inc.

Barbara J. Howe (West Virginia Univ.) has had an award named in her honor by Arthurdale Heritage, Inc., to recognize and encourage scholarship and research of New Deal Homesteads and related topics.

Klaus Larres (Queen’s Univ. of Belfast) published the monograph Politik der Illusionen. Churchill, Eisenhower und die deutsche Frage 1945-1955. Publications of the German Historical Institute, London, vol. 35, Vandenhoek & Ruprecht (1995).

James Lazerow (Wheelock Coll.) has published Religion and the Working Class in Antebellum America, Smithsonian Inst. Press (1995).

Irina Livezeanu (Univ. of Pittsburgh) has received the American Romanian Academy of Arts and Sciences book award and the Heldt Prize from the Association of Women in Slavic Studies, for her book Cultural Politics in Greater Romania: Regionalism, Nation Building, and Ethnic Struggle, 1918-1930, Cornell Univ. Press (1995). Her book was also included in Choice magazine’s list of Outstanding Academic Books for 1995.

James M. McPherson (George Henry Davis 1886 Professor of American History at Princeton Univ.) received the Henry Allen Moe Prize in the Humanities from the American Philosophical Society for his paper “Who Freed the Slaves?” presented at the society’s autumn meeting in 1993.

Mary Emily Miller (Methodist Coll.) received the Methodist College Medallion for 35 years of distinguished service to her profession and her fellow citizens. Over those years, she has served as professor of history, dean of women, and chair of the history and social science area. She is an expert in the field of American history and maritime history of the colonial period.

Trudy Huskamp Peterson, acting archivist of the United States from 1993 to 1995, was named, in October, as executive director of the Open Society Archives in Budapest, Hungary.

Thomas Sakmyster (Univ. of Cincinnati) was awarded the 1995 Book Prize by the American Association for the Study of Hungarian History for his book, Hungary's Admiral on Horseback, Miklos Horthy, 1918-1994, Columbia Univ. Press.

Aldo Salerno (Nassau Community Coll.) in New York; Bruce M. Stave (Univ. of Connecticut); and John F. Sutherland (Manchester CommunityTechnical Coll.) received the Homer D.Babbidge, Jr., Award from the Association for the Study of Connecticut History, in recognition of their book, From the Old Country: An Oral History of European Migration to America, Twayne (1994).

Stanley B. Winters (emeritus, New Jersey Inst. of Technology) has received the Distinguished Service Award for promoting Czechoslovak studies from the Czechoslovak History Conference (CHC). He is the first American-born scholar to be so honored since the CHC was founded in 1974.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.