Publication Date

February 1, 2001

Perspectives Section


Editor's Note: The purpose of this column, which is published in Perspectives as space permits, is to recognize and honor the accomplishments of AHA members. Submissions are welcome; entries will be published in alphabetical order according to date of receipt. To submit an entry, write to Cecelia J. Dadian, Senior Editor, AHA, 400 A St., SE, Washington, DC 20003-3889.

Constance Berman (Univ. of Iowa) has published a new book entitled The Cistercian Evolution of a Religious Order in Twelfth-Century Europe (Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2000).

Orville Vernon Burton (Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) won a national award for teaching. He was designated as 1999 Outstanding Research and Doctoral Universities Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education. At the University of Illinois he has also been named one of the campus’s first three “University Distinguished Teacher/Scholars.”

T. H. Breen (Northwestern Univ.) has been elected to the Harold Vyvyan Harmsworth Visiting Professorship of American History at Oxford University for 2000–01.

John Whiteclay Chambers II (Rutgers Univ. at New Brunswick) is editor in chief of The Oxford Companion to American Military History (Oxford University Press, 1999), a 900-page reference work on the history of war, peace, and society in America from colonial times to the

Jonathan Coopersmith (Texas A & M Univ.) has been elected to a member-at-large position of the History and Philosophy of Science Section of the American Association for the Advancement of Science for the 2000–04 term.

William E. Dunstan (North Carolina State Univ.) has published Ancient Greece (New York: Harcourt Brace, 2000). Ancient Greece isthe second volume of the Harcourt Brace series on Ancient Civilizations by Dunstan.

Virginia R. Espino (PhD cand., Arizona State Univ.) was awarded a Woodrow Wilson–Johnson & Johnson Dissertation Grant for the year 2000. Her proposed dissertation title is “Women Sterilized as They Give Birth: Forced Sterilization and Civil Rights Activism in 1970s Los Angeles.”

John C. Fredriksen (independent scholar) received the 1999 Harold L. Peterson Award for the best essay in military history, “Green Coats and Glory: The United States Regiment of Riflemen, 1808–1821,” published in Military Collector and Historian, 50. The award was shared with Steve Agoratus of Bristol Myers-Squibb.

Jessica C. E. Gienow-Hecht (Martin Luther Univ., Halle-Wittenberg, Germany) was awarded a 1999–2000 John F. Kennedy Memorial Fellowship and a 2000–01 Charles Warren Fellowship, both from Harvard, to research her topic “Sound Politics: Music, Emotions, and Diplomacy in German-American Cultural Relations, 1870–1920.” She just published Transmission Impossible: American Journalism as Cultural Diplomacy in Postwar Germany, 1945–1955 (Louisiana State Univ. Press, 1999).

Richard Lieberman (LaGuardia Community Coll. and CUNY Graduate Center) has won a Sloan Public Service Award for his innovative programs and exhibitions that make history available and interesting to the general public; for his building of the LaGuardia and Wagner Archives, which he has successfully managed since 1983; and for his scholarship and dedication to public education on all levels.

Kenneth Lipartito (Florida International Univ.) received the 2000 Harold F. Williamson award from the Business
History Conference of Wilmington, Delaware. This prize is awarded every three years to a scholar/teacher in midcareer who has made significant contributions to the field of business history.

Peter J. Loewenberg (UCLA) received the first Edith Sabshin Award of the American Psychoanalytic Association in recognition of outstanding achievements on the local and national level and excellence in teaching psychoanalytic concepts to students in nonpsychoanalytic educational settings.

Ina Baghdiantz McCabe (Tufts Univ.) is the first holder of the Darakjian/Jafarian Chair in Armenian History, an endowed chair established in 1998 at Tufts University. Her book on the Iranian silk trade, The Shah's Silk for Europe's Silver: The Eurasian Trade of the Julfa Armenians in Safavid Iran and India (1530–1750), was published by Scholar’s Press in the Armenian Series of the University of Pennsylvania in 1999.

Marino Moskowitz (Univ. of Glasgow) received the Herman E. Krooss Prize for the best dissertation in business history for her doctoral thesis, “Standard Bearers: Material Culture and Middle-Class Communities at the Turn of the Twentieth Century” (Yale Univ., 1999).

Richard Pells (Univ. of Texas at Austin) has received two visiting professor grants from DAAD (the German Academic Exchange Service) to teach in 2000–01 at the John F. Kennedy Institute for North American Studies at the Free University of Berlin and at the Anglo-American Institute of the University of Cologne. He will be teaching courses at both universitieson the globalization of American culture.

Kevin S. Reilly (Univ. of Massachusetts at Amherst) was awarded the 1999 Newcomen Article Prize at the Business History Conference for “Dilettantes at the Gate: Fortune Magazineand the Cultural Politics of Business Journalism in the 1930s,” Business and Economic History 28:2 (winter 1999), 213–22.

Jonathan Rose (Drew Univ.) is coeditor of Book History, to which the Council of Editors of Learned Journals recently awarded its annual prize for the best new scholarly journal of 1999.

Bruce M. Stave (Univ. of Connecticut at Storrs) has been named Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor of History at the University of Connecticut, where he is director of the university’s Center for Oral History.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.