Publication Date

April 1, 1997

Harriet Hyman Alonso (Fitchburg State Coll.) has been awarded the Bryant Spann Memorial Prize by the Eugene V. Debs Foundation for her article, “Nobel Peace Laureates, Jane Addams and Emily Greene Balch: Two Women of the Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom” (Journal of Women's History, summer 1995).

Richard L. Greaves (Florida State Univ.) received the Albert C. Outler Prize from the American Society of Church History for his work, God's Other Children: Protestant Nonconformists and the Emergence of Denominational Churches in Ireland, 1600-1700 (Stanford Univ. Press, 1997).

Jeffrey Herf (Ohio Univ.) has been awarded the Fraenkel Prize in Contemporary History by London’s Institute of Contemporary History and Wiener Library for his forthcoming book, Divided Memory: The Nazi Past in the Two Germanies.

Philip Hicks (St. Mary’s Coll., Notre Dame, Ind.) has published Neoclassical History and English Culture: From Clarendon to Hume (St. Martin’s Press, 1996).

Philip S. Khoury (MIT) is president-elect of the Middle East Studies Association of North America.

Asuncion Lavrin (Arizona State Univ.) won the 1995 Arthur p, Whitaker Prize conferred by the Middle Atlantic Council on Latin American Studies for her book Women, Feminism, and Social Change: Argentina, Chile, and Uruguay: 1890–1940 (Univ. of Nebraska Press). She published “Viceregal Culture,” in the Cambridge History of Latin American Literature (1996). In June 1996 Lavrin delivered a keynote lecture at the Conference on Dutch Women’s Studies on Latin America and the Caribbean.

John T. McGreevy (Harvard Univ.) was awarded the American Catholic Association’s John Gilmary Shea Prize for his book, Parish Boundaries: The Catholic Encounter with Race in the Twentieth-Century Urban North (Univ. of Chicago Press, 1995).

William Hardy McNeill was presented, by H.R.H. Prince Bernhard of the Netherlands, the Erasmus Prize 1996, which is awarded annually to a person or institution that has made an exceptionally important contribution to European culture, society, or social science. William McNeill was lauded for his work in world history.

Linda Karen Miller (Fairfax (Va.) High School) was selected as one of the 1996 Outstanding Social Studies Teachers by the National Council for the Social Studies.

Thomas H. O'Connor (Boston Coll.) received a New England Association 1996 Book Award for The Boston Irish: A Political History (Northeastern Univ., Press).

Nick Salvatore (Cornell Univ.) received a New England Association 1996 Book Award for We All Got History The Memory Books of Amos Webber (Times Books).

Kathleen Sheldon (UCLA) has edited Courtyards, Markets, City Streets: Urban Women in Africa (Westview Press, 1966).

Andrea L. Volpe (Rutgers Univ.) was awarded the 1996 Wise-Susman Prize by the American Studies Association for her paper, “Bodily Attitudes: Posing Stands and the Respectable Body in Cartes de Visite Portrait Photographs.”

Robert H.Zieger (Univ., of Florida) received the 1996 Philip Taft Prize in Labor History for The CIO 1935-1955, judged a superior contribution to labor and American history.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.