Publication Date

September 2, 2014

Perspectives Section


AHA members are encouraged to submit news about their careers, including prizes, promotions, honors, tenure, and new jobs. If you have an announcement that you would like to publish, please send it to with the subject line “Member News.” Submission guidelines for member news are on our website at:

Diego Avaria was awarded the first prize in the Contest on Chilean Foreign Policy, Security, Defense and Integration, organized by the Chilean Career Diplomats Association, National Academy of Political and Strategic Studies and Alberto Hurtado University. He received the prize for his paper “La administración Reagan y el plebiscito en Chile: La política de presión (1987–1989)” / “The Reagan Administration and the Plebiscite in Chile: The Politics of Pressure (1987–1989).” The paper can be accessed at:; other results of the contest are at:

Bettye Collier-Thomas, professor of history at Temple University, has been named a fellow of the National Humanities Center in Research Triangle, North Carolina, for 2014–15. She will spend the year at the National Humanities Center writing a history of African American women and politics.

Gregory T. Cushman’s book Guano &amp the Opening of the Pacific World: A Global Ecological History (Cambridge Univ. Press, 2013) was awarded the Henry A. Wallace Award for best book on agricultural history outside the United States by the Agricultural History Society. A review of his and David Igler’s new books was featured on the cover of the Dec. 6, 2013, issue of theTimes Literary Supplement (

Katherine Grandjean, an assistant professor of history at Wellesley College, is the 2014 recipient of the Douglas Adair Memorial Prize for her article “New World Tempests: Environment, Scarcity, and the Coming of the Pequot War” in the January 2011 issue of the William and Mary Quarterly. The Douglass Adair Memorial Prize is given biennially to the best article published in the William and Mary Quarterly during the preceding six years.

Gabrielle Hecht’s Being Nuclear: Africans and the Global Uranium Trade (MIT Press and Wits University Press, 2012) received the 2013 Robert K. Merton award from the American Sociological Association, the 2013 Susanne M. Glasscock Humanities Book Prize, and an honorable mention for the 2013 Herskovits award from the African Studies Association.

Christoph Rosenmüller, professor of history at Middle Tennessee State University, was awarded a Fulbright García Robles fellowship for research in Mexico City. He will be conducting research at the Colegio de México until the summer of 2015.

Beth Salerno has been promoted to full professor at Saint Anselm College. She will be on sabbatical all next year working on a biography of New Hampshire abolitionist and textbook author Mary Clark.

Cameron B. Strang is the recipient of the 2013 Richard L. Morton Award for his article “Indian Storytelling, Scientific Knowledge, and Power in the Florida Borderlands” in the October 2013 issue of the William and Mary Quarterly. The Morton Award recognizes a distinguished article published in the William and Mary Quarterly by an author in graduate study at the time of final submission. Strang is currently the Margaret Henry Dabney Penick Resident Scholar at the Smithsonian Institution. He begins teaching as an assistant professor at the University of Nevada, Reno, in the fall.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.