Publication Date

November 1, 2009

Perspectives Section


Editor’s Note: The purpose of this column, which is published in Perspectives on History as space permits, is to recognize and honor the accomplishments of AHA members. Submissions are welcome; entries will be published in alphabetical order. To submit an entry, write to David Darlington, Associate Editor, AHA, 400 A Street, SE, Washington, DC 20003-3889.

Catherine Allgor (Univ. of California at Riverside) has been awarded the prestigious Presidential Chair from the University of California system. She is spending the year researching her new book on coverture and the founding.

Christian Belena, an undergraduate and student of New York City history, has published his first essay in Markers, the journal of the Association of Gravestone Studies. “Charlotte Canda: Revisiting 19th-Century Brooklyn’s Most Famous Landmark,” is included in the fall 2009 edition.

Liam Brockey was recently appointed associate professor of history at Michigan State University. Brockey was also elected a member of the Portuguese Academy of History in summer 2009. This historical association was created in 1936, but its origins date to the 18th century (1720) when it was called the Royal Academy of Portuguese History.

Douglas Greenberg, executive dean of the School of Arts and Sciences at Rutgers University, is the recipient of Phi Beta Kappa’s Award for Distinguished Service to the Humanities. Greenberg is a former member of the AHA Council.

Michael A. Osborne (Oregon State Univ.) has been elected 2nd Vice President of UNESCO’s Division of History of Science and Technology, the global leader in promoting the history of science.

Eunice G. Pollack (Univ. of North Texas) is editing a multidisciplinary book series on Antisemitism in America for Academic Studies Press. She is currently editing the first volume in the series, on Antisemitism on the Campus: Past & Present, to be published in 2010. She can be reached at or

Joanne Del Vecchio is writing a biography of Ila Fox Loetscher, a female aviation pioneer and advocate for the care and preservation of sea turtles, in collaboration with Ila’s niece Mary Ann Tous. Publication is anticipated in 2010.

Lawrence S. Wittner (State Univ. of New York at Albany) is the author of Confronting the Bomb: A Short History of the World Nuclear Disarmament Movement (Stanford Univ. Press, 2009).

The Center for the History of Business, Technology, and Society awarded several grants in 2008 to make use of the Hagley Museum and Library’s research collections and fellowship programs. The following AHA members received grants: Sean Patrick Adams (Univ. of Florida), Christy Ford Chapin (Univ. of Virginia), Katherine Jorgensen Gray (Johns Hopkins Univ.), Shane Hamilton (Univ. of Georgia), Sarah Hammond (Yale Univ.), Kenneth J. Lipartito (Florida International Univ.),

Vernie Oliveiro (Harvard Univ.),Laura Phillips (Univ. of Virginia), Emanuela Scarpellini (Univ. of Milan), andMark Wilson (Univ. of North Carolina at Charlotte).

The Naval History and Heritage Command has awarded its prizes for 2009. The Rear Admiral Ernest M. Eller Prize in Naval History, sponsored jointly by the Naval History and Heritage Command and the Naval Historical Foundation, for the author of the best article on U.S. naval history published in a scholarly journal in 2008, has been given to Timothy S. Wolters (Utah State Univ.) for his article “Electric Torpedoes in the Confederacy: Reconciling Conflicting Histories,” published in the July 2008 issue of theJournal of Military History. Through careful and logical analysis of all the relevant sources, the prize article cogently explains the contributions of competing claimants to the development of the Confederacy’s electric torpedoes, while providing explanations of the origins of conflicting claims to priority in the development of this innovation in the technology of warfare. The purpose of this award is to heighten awareness of naval history and to encourage other scholars to research and write articles on innovative topics within the discipline. The Vice Admiral Edwin B. Hooper Research Grant has been awarded to Jonathan R. Winkler (Wright State Univ.) to assist with his research on U.S. national security policy through the 20th century from the perspective of changes in communications and information technology.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.