Publication Date

May 1, 2010

Perspectives Section


Editor’s Note: The purpose of this column, which is published in Perspectives on History as space permits, is to recognize and honor the accomplishments of AHA members. Submissions are welcome; entries will be published in alphabetical order. To submit an entry, write to David Darlington, Associate Editor, AHA, 400 A St., SE, Washington, DC 20003-3889.

Rolena Adorno, the Reuben Post Halleck Professor of Spanish and chair of the Department of Spanish and Portuguese, Yale University, has been appointed to membership on the National Council on the Humanities, the advisory board to the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH). The council reviews grant applications and advises the chair of the NEH. President Obama nominated Adorno on July 9, 2009, and her appointment was confirmed by the U.S. Senate on November 5, 2009. Adorno is a scholar of colonial Spanish-American literature and the 19th-century origins of Hispanism in the United States. Winner of several book prizes, Adorno was awarded the Katherine Singer Kovacs Prize from the Modern Language Association for The Polemics of Possession in Spanish American Narrative (2007). An honorary professor of La Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú in Lima, Adorno is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Former AHA President Natalie Zemon Davis (Univ. of Toronto) has won the Holberg Prize for outstanding scholarly work in the academic fields of the arts and humanities, social sciences, law, and theology. The prize will be awarded June 9, 2010, in Norway. For more information, see the full article in the April 2010 issue ofPerspectives on History.

Linda Gordon (NYU), Martha A. Sandweiss (Princeton Univ.), and Gordon S. Wood (Brown Univ.) were named finalists for the LA Times annual book prizes for 2009. In the history category, Sandweiss was nominated for Passing Strange: A Gilded Age Tale of Love and Deception Across the Color Line (Penguin Press) and Wood was nominated for Empire of Liberty: A History of the Early Republic, 1789–1815 (Oxford Univ. Press). Gordon was nominated in the biography category for Dorothea Lange: A Life Beyond Limits (W.W. Norton & Co.).

Peter Loewenberg (UCLA) will receive the 2010 Nevitt Sanford Award for Professional Contributions to Political Psychology. This award, created in honor of Nevitt Sanford, is given yearly since 1979 to someone deemed by the committee to be 1) engaged in the practical application of political psychological principles, or 2) creating knowledge that is accessible and used by practitioners to make a positive difference in the way politics is carried out. Past awardees include Nevitt Sanford and David Riesman.

Jeffrey S. Reznick was recently appointed deputy chief of the History of Medicine Division of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health. He is author of John Galsworthy and Disabled Soldiers of the Great War (Manchester Univ. Press, 2009).

George J. Sanchez (Univ. of Southern California) received the Outstanding Latino/a Faculty in Higher Education: Research in Higher Education Award. This award was presented at the American Association of Hispanics in Higher Education (AAHHE) 5th annual national conference Awards Luncheon on Saturday, March 6, 2010, in Costa Mesa, California.

Elizabeth Schmidt is a recipient of the 2010 Faculty Award for Excellence in Service-Learning and Engaged Scholarship at Loyola University Maryland. Since 2005, nearly 200 of her African history students have tutored African refugee children in programs run by the International Rescue Committee, the American Red Cross, and Baltimore City Community College’s Refugee Youth Project.

Jonathan Spence, former president of the American Historical Association, will deliver the 2010 Jefferson Lecture in the Humanities on Thursday, May 20, 2010, at the Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C. See the full article in this issue of Perspectives on History.

Gordon S. Wood has won the American History Book Prize from the New-York Historical Society for Empire of Liberty: A History of the Early Republic, 1789–1815. The award comes with $50,000 and the title American Historian Laureate.

Columbia University announced the 2010 winners of the prestigious Bancroft Prize on March 17, 2010. The three historians named were member Linda Gordon, Woody Holton (Univ. of Richmond), andMargaret D. Jacobs (Univ. of Nebraska). For more information, see the full article in the April 2010 issue of Perspectives on History.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.