Publication Date

April 22, 2014

Perspectives Section


The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation recently announced the winners of their ninetieth annual competition for fellowships. A group of 178 scholars, artists, and scientists were selected out of a pool of 3,000 applicants on the basis of prior achievement and exceptional promise. We are excited to see over twenty AHA members* and historians among the list of fellows, which we have listed below. Congrats to all of the winners!guggenheim

Ann Blair*, director of undergraduate studies, Harvard College Professor, Henry Charles Lea Professor of History, Harvard University


Holly Brewer*, Burke Chair of American History and associate professor, University of Maryland, College Park


Deborah Coen*, associate professor of history, Barnard College, Columbia University


Anver Emon, professor of law, University of Toronto


David Engerman, Ottilie Springer Professor of History, Brandeis University


Jack Goldstone, Virginia E. and John T. Hazel Professor of Public Policy, George Mason University


Lillian Guerra*, professor of Cuban and Caribbean history, University of Florida


Karl Jacoby*, professor of history, Columbia University


Eric Jennings, professor of history, University of Toronto


James H. Johnson*, professor of history, Boston University


Robin D. G. Kelley, Distinguished Professor of History & Gary B. Nash Endowed Chair in United States History, University of California, Los Angeles


Jill Lepore, David Woods Kemper ’41 Professor of American History and chair, History and Literature Program, Harvard University


Michael Nylan, professor of history, University of California, Berkeley


Steven Pincus, Bradford Durfee Professor of History and co-director, CHESS, Yale University


Marina Rustow, Charlotte Bloomberg Associate Professor in the Humanities,Johns Hopkins University


Helmut Smith*, Martha Rivers Ingram Chair of History, Vanderbilt University


Victoria Sweet, associate clinical professor, University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine


Emily Thompson*, professor of history, Princeton University


John Watkins*, professor of English language and literature, University of Minnesota





This post first appeared on AHA Today.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.