Publication Date

April 1, 1988

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

The Nominating Committee for 1988–89, chaired by Richard S. Dunn, University of Pennsylvania, met in Washington, D.C. on February 18–20, and offers the following candidates for those offices of the Association that are to be filled in the election this year:

President (one-year term)

Louis R. Harlan, University of Maryland College Park (U.S.)

President-elect (one-year term)

David Herlihy, Brown University (medieval)

J.G.A. Pocock, Johns Hopkins University (European)

Vice President, Teaching Division (three-year term)

Robert L. Harris, Cornell University (Afro-American)

Mary K.B. Tachau, University of Louisville (American)

Council Members (three-year terms)

Place 1:

Asunción Lavrin, Howard University (Latin American)

Margaret Strobel, University of Illinois at Chicago (African)

Place 2:

Seymour Drescher, University of Pittsburgh (European)

Martin J. Wiener, Rice University (British)

Divisional Committee Members (three-year terms)


Richard J.M. Blackett, Indiana University (Afro-American)

David M. Katzman, University of Kansas (U.S.)


Jacqueline Goggin, Papers of J. Franklin Jameson (U.S.)

Constance B. Schulz, University of South Carolina (U.S.)


Barbara J. Harris, Pace University (English)

Diethelm Prowe, Carleton College (German)

Committee on Committees (three-year terms):

Stanley G. Payne, University of Wisconsin, Madison (European)

Alexander Sedgwick, University of Virginia (European)

Nominating Committee (three-year terms):

Place 1:

Robert L. Middlekauff, University of California, Berkeley (American)

Gary B. Nash, University of California, Los Angeles (American)

Place 2:

Norman Itzkowitz, Princeton University (Near Eastern)

Angeliki Laiou, Harvard University (Byzantine)

Place 3:

Sidney D. Brown, University of Oklahoma (Far Eastern)

Barbara N. Ramusack, University of Cincinnati (S. Asian)

Nominations may also be made by petitions carrying in each case the signatures of one hundred or more members of the Association in good standing and indicating in each case the particular vacancy for which the nomination is intended. Nominations by petition must be in the hands of the chair of the Nominating Committee on or before July 1. All nominations must be accompanied by certification of the willingness of the nominee to serve if elected.

In distributing the annual ballot by mail to the members of the Association, the Nominating Committee shall present and identify such candidates nominated by petition along with its own candidates.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.