Publication Date

September 1, 2006

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

At its meetings held June 3–4, 2006, in Washington, D.C., the AHA’s Council reached the following decisions.

      • Approved the minutes of the Council’s meetings held on January 5 and 8, 2006, during the 120th annual meeting held at Philadelphia.
      • Approved via the Council listserv the nominations for the 2006 Award for Scholarly Distinction and Honorary Foreign Member.
      • Approved the budget for fiscal year 2007–08.
      • Approved the composition of the Program Committee for the 122nd Annual Meeting to be held in January 2008 in Washington, D.C. The committee’s members will be:

        Nancy Tomes (SUNY-Stony Brook), chair
        Peter Sigal (Duke Univ.), co-chair
        Eric Avila (UCLA)
        Poshek Fu (Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
        Pieter M. Judson (Swarthmore Coll.)
        Thomas M. Laichas (Crossroads School, Santa Monica, Calif.)
        Lisa A. Lindsay (Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
        Asfaneh Najmabadi (Harvard Univ.)
        Andrew Jackson O’Shaughnessy (Univ. of Virginia)
        Jon F. Sensbach (Univ. of Florida)
        Laura Ackerman Smoller (Univ. of Arkansas at Little Rock)
        Daryle Williams (Univ. of Maryland at College Park)

        The 2009 chair and co-chair, who will be appointed in January 2007, will also serve on the committee.

      • Approved exploration of creation of an African history book prize, which would recognize the most distinguished work of scholarship on African history published in English during the previous calendar year.
      • Approved the change in the name of the Atlantic History Prize to the James A. Rawley Prize in Atlantic History.
      • Agreed to the Teaching Division’s recommendation that the AHA establish minimum standards for teacher preparation of K–12 history teachers.
      • Approved the four nominations to the Board of Editors of the American Historical Review:

        Toby L. Ditz (Johns Hopkins Univ.), Early America
        Lloyd S. Kramer (Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill),Modern European
        Daniel Lord Smail (Harvard Univ.),Medieval
        Jeffrey Wasserstrom (Univ. of California at Irvine), Asia.

      • Agreed that the executive director should begin exploration of relocating the AHA headquarters from its current location on Capitol Hill.
      • Approved the addition of “Disability History” to the taxonomic list of research specializations and approved the deletion of “Psycho-history” from the list.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.