Publication Date

March 1, 2003

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

  • Approved minutes from the Council's June 29–30, 2002, meeting in Washington, D.C.

  • Reappointed Randy Norell as controller of the Association for another five-year term.

  • Approved the appointive committee slates for 2003. See listing here.

  • Accepted the Society for Automotive Historians and the Center for History and New Media as the 113th and 114th affiliated societies, respectively, of the AHA (see related article on page 11).

  • Appointed the 2004 Program Committee, with Joe Trotter (Carnegie Mellon Univ.) as chair and John Thornton (Millersville Univ. of Pennsylvania) as cochair. Other committee members are Harriet Alonso (City Coll. of New York), George Reid Andrews (Univ. of Pittsburgh), Linda T. Darling (Arizona State Univ.), Michael Devine (Truman Presidential Library), Prasenjit Duara (Univ. of Chicago), Susan Pedersen (Harvard Univ.), Alex Roland (Duke Univ.), Barbara Rosenwein (Loyola Univ. Chicago), Vicki Ruiz (Univ. of California-Irvine), and Stephanie Shaw (Ohio State Univ.), with Paul Freedman (Yale Univ.) as the 2005 Program Committee chair and Barbara Weinstein (Univ. of Maryland at College Park) as 2005 Program Committee cochair.

  • Commended Wm. Roger Louis and encouraged his continuation on his work for the National History Center.

  • Directed the Professional Division to evaluate the current adjudication process and its pedagogical role to the profession. Approved the division's recommendation for a moratorium on accepting new complaints until the evaluation is completed.

  • Endorsed the draft report of the Committee on Graduate Education, "The Education of Historians in the 21st Century."

  • Agreed to postpone implementing Beer, Fairbank, and Gershoy research grants for one year, in order to further study the financial feasibility of the grants.

  • Approved the consolidation of subject areas for the Morris D. Forkosch Prize, which will now be awarded for the best book in the field of British, British imperial, or British Commonwealth history since 1485.

  • Endorsed the Teaching Division's document, "Advice to History Departments on National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) Review of Teacher Preparation Programs."

  • Approved a revision to Section 5 ("Credentials") of the Statement on Standards and Professional Conduct. The section will now read:

Historians are obligated to present their credentials accurately and honestly in all contexts. They should take care not to misrepresent their qualifications in c.v.’s and in grant applications.

The status of a book, article, or other publication that is still in the production pipeline is often an important piece of information for search committees, tenure/promotion review committees, and fellowship committees. Yet the profession has no standardized terminology for works in progress, often rendering their status unclear. The AHA suggests the following lexicon.

"In Press": the manuscript is fully copyedited and out of the author's hands. It is in the final stages of the production process.

"Forthcoming": a completed manuscript has been accepted by a press or journal.

"Under contract to . . .": a press and an author have signed a contract for a book in progress, but the final manuscript has not yet been submitted.

"Submitted" or "under consideration": the book or article has been submitted to a press or journal, but there is as yet no contract or agreement to publish.

  • Historians should not list among the completed achievements on their c.v.'s degrees or honors they have never earned, jobs they have never held, articles or books they have never written or published, or any comparable misrepresentations of their creative or professional work.

  • Approved the Professional Division's proposed Theodore Roosevelt-Woodrow Wilson Award, which honors a public official or other civil servant who has made extraordinary contributions to the study, teaching, and public understanding of history. The award is named for two past presidents of the American Historical Association who also served as presidents of the United States and will serve as a reminder that history is not just the domain of professional scholars. The Council will select honorees on the recommendation of the AHA's president and executive director.

  • Approved the American Historical Review‘s guidelines for book reviewers on dealing with issues of plagiarism when reviewing books.

  • Asked the Joint OAH-AHA Committee on Part-time and Adjunct Employment to continue its work on a "best practices" document concerning treatment, salaries, and working conditions of part-time and adjunct faculty members.

  • Approved the nonsubstantive editorial changes, including the change of the title "Secretary-Treasurer" to "Executive Director of the PCB" to the constitution of the Pacific Coast Branch of the American Historical Association.

  • Appointed Council members to vacant positions on various committees: Victoria Harden to the Finance Committee and Quintard Taylor to the Committee on Affiliated Societies.

  • Set the spring meeting of the Council for May 2–3, 2003, in Washington, D.C., with the Finance Committee meeting before the general Council meeting.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.