Publication Date

September 1, 2001

The 117th annual meeting of the Association will be held in Chicago, January 2–5, 2003. The Program Committee welcomes proposals from all members of the Association (academic and nonacademic), from affiliated societies, and from scholars in foreign countries and in related disciplines. In planning the program, the committee seeks presentations that address the entire community of historians and provide opportunities to examine the larger concerns of the profession. Panels focusing on research and teaching and on discussion of significant professional issues, rights, and responsibilities are welcome. Continuing the practice of previous years, the committee encourages the participation of established and younger scholars and also requests, in particular, panels on time periods, regions, topics, and approaches that have been underrepresented in recent AHA meetings.

The AHA Annual Meeting offers a unique opportunity to generate and stimulate conversations across the boundaries of subfields, institutional locations, and disciplines. To encourage wider participation of the whole profession, we propose not to organize the 2003 meeting around a set theme. We encourage panels in traditional areas and periods as well in all the new subfields of history. We are especially interested in proposals that focus on the ways in which the profession is currently engaged in crossing disciplinary or traditional geographic boundaries. As the last few meetings have indicated, those assembling panels and those attending them have found that comparative sessions have worked well both in stimulating discussion and attracting a diverse audience.

The Program Committee for 2003 consists of Anand A. Yang(Univ. of Utah), chair; Margaret Washington (Cornell Univ.), co-chair; Joe W. Trotter (Carnegie Mellon Univ.), chair of 2004 Program Committee; Maggie Favretti, (Scarsdale High School); Leila Fawaz (Tufts Univ.); Peter Onuf (Univ. of Virginia); Cheryl E. Martin (Univ. of Texas, El Paso); Peggy Pascoe (Univ. of Oregon); Gerhard L. Weinberg (Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill); K. Scott Wong (Williams College). The rest of the committee, including the co-chair of 2004 Program Committee and a graduate assistant, will be appointed this fall.

There is only one deadline for submission: February 15, 2002. Any proposal postmarked after that date will not be considered. The committee will consider only complete panels or workshops (those that include all presenters, chair, and commentator). Because there is only one deadline, single-paper submissions cannot be considered. Experience has shown that it is virtually impossible to find matches for single papers or form panels around them with the single, later deadline. There will also be no “poster sessions.”

The AHA has established a Panel Locator on its web site to assist members in finding suitable copanelists. The Panel Locator will be searchable via keyword and subject area, and may be accessed at

The H-Net lists are also a useful resource in finding other panel members; the web site is located at

Please consult the "Program Committee Guidelines" on page 46 of the September Perspectives) when preparing a proposal, and be sure to use the cover sheet on page 44 of the September Perspectives) or a photocopy. A cover sheet is mandatory for all submissions. Additional copies of all materials may be obtained from the AHA office with a request addressed to: 2003 Materials, AHA, 400 A St., SE, Washington, DC 20003-3889. (202) 544-2422, ext. 104. Fax (202) 544-8307. E-mail: All materials may also be found on the AHA's web site. Go to

All persons appearing on the program must be members of the AHA, the exceptions being foreign scholars and scholars from other disciplines. Only in exceptional circumstances will individuals be allowed to appear consecutively on the 2002 and 2003 program.

Please mail four copies of the complete proposal (including the cover sheet) to Anand A. Yang, Department of History, University of Utah, 380 S. 1400 E. Rm. 211, Salt Lake City, Utah 84112-0311. Please mark your envelope “AHA 2003.”

E-mail addresses for the cochairs are: Anand A. Yang: and Margaret Washington:

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.