Publication Date

November 1, 2006

Award for Scholarly Distinction

  • David Brion Davis, Yale University
  • Lloyd Gardner, Rutgers University-New Brunswick
  • Fritz Stern, Columbia University

Honorary Foreign Member

  • Ida Blom, University of Bergen, Norway

Troyer Steele Anderson Prize

  • Linda Shopes, Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission

Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award

  • Carole Srole, California State University at Los Angeles

Nancy L. Roelker Mentorship Award

  • Bruce J. Schulman, Boston University

Theodore Roosevelt-Woodrow Wilson Award

  • John Lewis, Congressional Representative (5th District, Georgia)

Beveridge Family Teaching Prize

  • Ron Briley, Sandia Preparatory School

Book Prizes

Herbert Baxter Adams Prize

  • Stephanie Siegmund, The Medici State and the Ghetto of Florence: The Construction of an Early Modern Jewish Community, Stanford University Press, 2006

Albert J. Beveridge Award

  • Louis S. Warren, Buffalo Bill's America: William Cody and the Wild West Show, Knopf, 2005

Paul Birdsall Prize

  • Mark Atwood Lawrence, Assuming the Burden: Europe and the American Commitment to War in Vietnam, University of California Press, 2005

James Henry Breasted Prize

  • Chris Wickham, Framing the Early Middle Ages: Europe and the Mediterranean, 400–800, Oxford University Press, 2005

Albert B. Corey Prize

  • John J. Bukowczyk, Nora Faires, David R. Smith, and Randy William Widdis,Permeable Border: The Great Lakes Basin as Transnational Region, 1650–1990, University of Pittsburgh Press & University of Calgary , 2005

John E. Fagg Prize

  • David J. Weber, Bárbaros: Spaniards and Their Savages in the Age of Enlightenment, Yale University Press, 2005

John K. Fairbank Prize

  • Madeleine Zelin, The Merchants of Zigong: Industrial Entrepreneurship in Early Modern China, Columbia University Press, 2006

Morris D. Forkosch Prize

  • Christopher Leslie Brown, Moral Capital: Foundations of British Abolitionism, University of North Carolina Press for the Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture, 2006

Leo Gershoy Award

  • Howard G. Brown,Ending the French Revolution: Violence, Justice and Repression from the Terror to Napoleon, University of Virginia Press, 2006

Waldo G. Leland Prize

  • Rosemary Skinner Keller and Rosemary Radford Ruether, eds., Marie Cantlon, associate ed., Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America, Indiana University Press, 2006

Littleton-Griswold Prize

  • Daniel J. Hulsebosch, Constituting Empire: New York and the Transformation of Constitutionalism in the Atlantic World, 1664-1830, University of North Carolina Press, 2006

J. Russell Major Prize

  • Todd Shepard, The Invention of Decolonization: The Algerian War and the Remaking of France, Cornell University Press, 2006

Helen and Howard R. Marraro Prize

  • Frank M. Snowden, The Conquest of Malaria: Italy, 1900–1962, Yale University Press, 2006

George L. Mosse Prize

  • Sandra Herbert, Charles Darwin, Geologist, Cornell University Press, 2005

James Harvey Robinson Prize

The John O'Connor Prize is not being awarded this year. The winners of the George Louis Beer Prize, the Premio del Rey Prize, the Clarence H. Harring Prize, the Joan Kelly memorial Prize, the James A. Rawley Prize, and the Wesley-Logan Prize will be announced in the December issue.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.