Publication Date

December 1, 1997

The general meeting of the American Historical Association will take place on Friday, January 9, at 8:30 p.m. in the Sheraton's Metropolitan Ballroom. President-elect Joseph C. Miller (Univ. of Virginia) will preside over the meeting and announce the recipients of the following prizes and awards.

Awards for Written Work

Herbert Baxter Adams Prize: For a book on modern European history (1815-20th century) by a U.S. or Canadian citizen or permanent resident.

George Louis Beer Prize: For the best book on European international history since 1895 by a U.S. citizen.

Albert J. Beveridge Award: For the best book in English on the history of U.S., America, or Canada, 1492-present.

James Henry Breasted Prize: For outstanding books in the field of Near East and Egyptian history prior to 1000 A.D.

John H. Dunning Prize: For a book on any topic in U.S. history.

John K. Fairbank Prize: For the best book on East Asian history, 1800-present.

Herbert Feis Award: For the best book, article(s), or policy paper by an independent scholar or public historian.

Morris D. Forkosch Prize: For the best book in the fields of British, British Imperial, or British Commonwealth history since 1485.

Leo Gershoy Award: For the best work published in English on any subject in the field of 17th- and 18th-century western European history.

Joan Kelly Memorial Prize in Women's History: For the best work in women’s history or feminist theory that incorporates a historical perspective.

Littleton-Griswold Prize: For the best book in any subject on the history of American law and society.

Helen and Howard R. Marraro Prize: For the best works on Italian or Italian-U.S. history.

Wesley-Logan Prize: For an outstanding book on some aspect of the history of the dispersion, settlement, and adjustment and the return of peoples originally from Africa.

Awards for Scholarly Distinction

Honorary Foreign Member for 1997

Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award: Recognizes excellence in teaching and knowledge of the subject of history.

Beveridge Family Teaching Prize: For a distinguished group of K-12 teachers.

William Gilbert Award: For the best journal or serial article on the teaching of history

John O'Connor Film Award: For outstanding interpretations of history through the medium of film or video.

Nancy Lyman Roelker Mentorship Award: For a distinguished precollegiate mentor.

Presidential Address

Following the conferral of awards and honors, Joyce Appleby (UCLA) will deliver her presidential address entitled The Power of History, in which she notes that as our society has become more of a knowledge-dependent society, the foundations of our knowledge have been called into question. She will argue that historians can help guide the public out of this intellectual thicket if they apply the lessons of their own collective self-scrutiny of the past 35 years.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.