Publication Date

December 1, 1997

(Lake Forest Coll.), chair of the Nominating Committee, announces the following results of the 1997 balloting for officers and committee members of the American Historical Association.

President: Joseph C. Miller (Univ. of Virginia)

President-Elect: Robert Damton (Princeton Univ.)

Vice President, Teaching Division

Leon Fink (Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

Council Members

Place 1:Nadine Ishitani Hata (El Camino Community Coll.)

Place 2: Marilyn B. Young (New York Univ.)

Division Members

Professional: James Grossman (Newberry Library)

Research: Gale Stokes (Rice Univ.)

Teaching: Nupur Chaudhuri (Kansas State Univ.)

Committee on Committees

Madeleine Zelin (Columbia Univ.)

Nominating Committee

Place 1:Philip D. Morgan (Omohundro Inst. of Early American History and Culture, Coll. of William and Mary)

Place 2:Helen Lefkowitz Horowitz (Smith Coll.)

Place 3:Michael Les Benedict (Ohio State Univ.)

The results will be announced at the annual business meeting on January 10, 1998, in Room 602 of the Washington State Convention Center, Seattle, beginning at 4:45 p.m. A detailed report will appear in the January issue of Perspectives.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.