Publication Date

January 23, 2017

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

Through e-mail conversation from June 7, 2016, to December 1, 2016, and at meetings on January 5 and 8, 2017, the Council of the made the following decisions or actions:

  • Approved the name change of the Committee on LGBTQ History and Historians to the Committee on LGBTQ Status in the Profession.
  • Approved the appointment of 2018 Program Committee members: James Carter, St. Joseph’s University (modern China); Rita Chin, University of Michigan (modern Europe); Purnima Dhavan, University of Washington, Seattle (South Asia, intellectual, religious); Trevor Getz, San Francisco State University (modern Africa); Kristina Giannotta, Naval Heritage and History Command (ancient, public); Toby Jones, Rutgers University (Middle East, environmental); Jennifer Morgan, New York University (Colonial US, slavery); José Moya, Barnard College, Columbia University (Latin America, migration); Craig Perrier, Fairfax County Public Schools (K-12, US, education, historiography); Andres Tijerina, Austin Community College (US, borderlands, Chicano/Latino); Kathryn Tomasek, Wheaton College (19th-century US, digital, women); and David Whitford, Baylor University (early modern Europe, Reformation, religion).
  • Approved signing onto a statement of concern from the Middle Eastern Studies Association regarding moves by the Turkish government to dismantle much of the structure of Turkish higher education through purges, restrictions, and assertions of central control.
  • Appointed Alex Lichtenstein as the editor of the American Historical Review for a four-year term.
  • Approved a statement expressing concern to the Texas State Board of Education about the content of a recent draft of a textbook that has been submitted for approval for a Texas’s Mexican American Studies course.
  • Approved the recommendation of the Committee on Affiliated Societies to accept the affiliate application of the Midwestern Historical Association.
  • Appointed Edna Greene Medford, Howard University, and Aaron O’Connell, director of defense policy and strategy, National Security Council, White House, to co-chair the Local Arrangements Committee for the 2018 annual meeting in Washington, DC.
  • Appointed Kenneth Ledford, Case Western Reserve University, to serve as AHA parliamentarian for a three-year term beginning in January 2017.
  • Approved the following change to the Marraro Prize: from “. . . the best book on Italy . . .” to “. . . the best book on Italian history, Italian cultural history, or Italo-American cultural relations . . .” to more clearly reflect the intent of the prize fund bequest.
  • Approved a letter to Polish President Andrzej Duda expressing concern about potential legal proceedings against historian Jan Tomasz Gross (Princeton Univ.) due to his historical work ascribing the responsibility for crimes against humanity during World War II.
  • Approved the following order of locations for upcoming AHA annual meetings: Seattle (2021), New Orleans (2022), Philadelphia (2023), San Francisco (2024), and New York (2025).
  • Approved the June 2016 meeting minutes, the December 2016 meeting minutes, the 2017 committee appointments, and the 2019 program committee chairs appointments.
  • Approved the nominee for the 2017 Honorary Foreign Member (to be announced at a later date).
  • Granted approval to members of the Teaching Division to explore the feasibility of the Measuring College Learning project.
  • Approved a process for Association members to propose late-breaking sessions for the annual meeting, which will be announced in fall 2017.
  • Approved nondiscrimination language to be incorporated into all applicable AHA policy statements and best practices documents to refer consistently and comprehensively to “sex, gender, gender expression, gender identity, sexual orientation, and marital status.”
  • Approved the nomination of William Wechsler to the Investment Subcommittee.
  • Received the Fiscal Year 2015–16 Audit.

This post first appeared on AHA Today.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.