Publication Date

April 1, 2004

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

The AHA Nominating Committee for 2004–05, chaired by Alice Conklin (Univ. of Rochester), which met in Washington, D.C., February 7–9, 2004, offers the following candidates for offices of the Association that are to be filled in the election to be held later this year (the institutional affiliations of the candidates are followed by their fields of interest and specialization):

President (1-year term)

James J. Sheehan (Stanford Univ.), modern Europe

President-elect (1-year term)

Linda K. Kerber (Univ. of Iowa), U.S. women’s, U.S. legal and intellectual, U.S. early Republic

Leon F. Litwack (Univ. of California at Berkeley), America since 1607, African American and race relations, social

Vice President, Professional Division (3-year term)

Edward L. Ayers (Univ. of Virginia), U.S. South

Anthony Grafton (Princeton Univ.), Renaissance and Reformation, historiography

Council (3-year terms)

Position 1

Arthur R. Gomez (National Park Service), Spanish colonial, U.S. West

Modupe Labode (Colorado Historical Society), public history, U.S. West, African diaspora, women

Position 2

Indrani Chatterjee (Rutgers Univ.), South Asia, slavery, gender

Mrinalini Sinha (Penn State Univ.), modern India, British imperialism, feminist theory

Division Representatives (3-year terms)


Richard A. Baker (U.S. Senate Historical Office), U.S. political

Spencer Crew (National Underground Railroad Freedom Center), 20th-century American urban, African American


Laurie Nussdorfer (Wesleyan Univ.), early modern Europe

Paula A. Sanders (Rice Univ.), medieval Middle East, Islamic civilization, gender in Islamic societies


Monica Tetzlaff (Indiana Univ. South Bend), African American, women, U.S. West

David M. Wrobel (Univ. of Nevada at Las Vegas), American West, American cultural/intellectual

Committee on Committees (3-year term)

Philippa J. A. Levine (Univ. of Southern California), modern Britain, colonialism, gender and sexuality

Jeremy D. Popkin (Univ. of Kentucky), modern French history, historiography, Holocaust studies

Nominating Committee (3-year terms)

Position 1

Dena Goodman (Univ. of Michigan), early modern France, Enlightenment, women and gender

Jo Burr Margadant (Santa Clara Univ.), France, modern Europe, European women

Position 2

Neil Foley (Univ. of Texas at Austin), borderlands, Texas, Mexican American

Virginia Scharff (Univ. of New Mexico), U.S. West, women, environment

Position 3

Edward A. Alpers (UCLA), eastern Africa and the Indian Ocean, African diaspora, slave trade and slavery

David Northrup (Boston Coll.), Africa

Nominations may also be made by petition carrying in each case the signatures of one hundred or more members of the Association in good standing and indicating in each case the particular vacancy for which the nomination is intended. Nominations by petition must be in the hands of the Nominating Committee on or before July 1, 2004. All nominations must be accompanied by certification of willingness of the nominee to serve if elected. In distributing the annual ballot by mail to the members of the Association, the Nominating Committee shall present and identify such candidates nominated by petition along with its own candidates.

Election Schedule

Schedule for Nomination and Election of AHA Officers

April 2004: Slate published in Perspectives.

July 1, 2004: Deadline for nominations by petition, if any.

August 31, 2004: Ballot material mailed to all AHA members.

November 1, 2004: Deadline for return of ballots.

January 8, 2005: Election results announced at business meeting during 119th annual meeting scheduled for Seattle.

January 10, 2005: Individuals begin terms of office.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.