Publication Date

April 1, 2003

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

The AHA Nominating Committee for 2003–04, chaired by Joyce Chaplin (Harvard Univ.), which met in Washington, D.C., February 1–3, 2003, offers the following candidates for offices of the Association that are to be filled in the election to be conducted later this year:

President (1-year term)

  • Jonathan D. Spence, Yale University (China since 1600)

President-Elect (1-year term)

  • James J. Sheehan, Stanford University (modern Europe)
  • Bonnie G. Smith, Rutgers University (modern Europe, women and gender, France, world)

Vice President, Teaching Division (3-year term)

  • Patrick Manning, Northeastern University (world, Africa, social and economic)
  • Howard Spodek, Temple University (South Asia, world, urban)

Council (3-year terms)

Position 1

  • Carole Stanford Bucy, Volunteer State Community College, Tennessee (American women’s political history, 20th century, Civil War)
  • Kevin Reilly, Raritan Valley Community College, New Jersey (world)

Position 2

  • Steven A. Epstein, University of Colorado at Boulder; beginning July ’03: University of Kansas (medieval Europe)
  • Pamela H. Smith, Pomona College (early modern Europe, science, artisans and artists)

Division Representatives (3-year terms)


  • Mary Lindemann, Carnegie Mellon University (early modern Europe, German, Flemish, Dutch)
  • Susan Elizabeth Ramirez, DePaul University (colonial Latin America, social and cultural history of native peoples of the Andes, political economy, land tenure, prosopography, education)


  • Marshall C. Eakin, Vanderbilt University (Latin America, 19th- and 20th-century Brazil and Central America)
  • Robert C. Ritchie, The Huntington Library (early America)


  • Andrew DeRoche, Front Range Community College, Longmont Campus (U.S. and Africa, 20th-century U.S., African American, U.S. Civil War)
  • Emily S. Tai, Queensborough Community College, CUNY (medieval, world, women)

Committee on Committees (3-year terms)

  • Richard L. Kagan, Johns Hopkins University (early modern Europe, Spain and its overseas empire)
  • Julia Clancy-Smith, University of Arizona (19th-century North African and Mediterranean world, Middle Eastern women)

Nominating Committee (3-year terms)

Position 1

  • Antoinette Burton, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Britain and Empire, women, colonial India)
  • John A. Davis, University of Connecticut (Italian and comparative European history since the 18th century)

Position 2

  • Daryl M. Scott, Howard University (African American, modern U.S.)
  • Clarence E. Walker, University of California at Davis (American black, 1450–present; comparative slavery and race; 19th-century social and political; popular culture, film)

Position 3

  • Olivia Remie Constable, University of Notre Dame (Mediterranean social and economic, Muslim-Christian contacts, Spain)
  • Dina R. Khoury, George Washington University (Middle East)

Nominations may also be made by petition that carry in each case the signatures of one hundred or more members of the Association in good standing and indicating in each case the particular vacancy for which the nomination is intended. Nominations by petition must be in the hands of the Nominating Committee on or before July 1, 2003. All nominations must be accompanied by certification of willingness of the nominee to serve if elected. In distributing the annual ballot by mail to the members of the Association, the Nominating Committee shall present and identify such candidates nominated by petition along with its own candidates.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.