Publication Date

April 1, 2002

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

The Nominating Committee for 2002–03, chaired by Gary Kates (Pomona Coll.), met in Washington, D.C., February 9–11, 2002, and offers the following candidates for offices of the Association that are to be filled in the election this year:

President (1-year term)

James M. McPherson, Princeton University (19th-century U.S., Civil War)

President-elect (1-year term)

John W. Dower, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (modern Japan, international relations, race and culture)

Jonathan D. Spence, Yale University (China since 1600)

Vice President, Research Division (3-year term)

Roy A. Rosenzweig, George Mason University (U.S. social and cultural, late 19th and 20th century)

Michael S. Sherry, Northwestern University (modern U.S., World War II)

Council (3-year terms)

Slot 1

Robert L. Harris Jr., Cornell University (African American, thought and culture, leaders and movements)

Quintard Taylor Jr., University of Washington (African American, American West)

Slot 2

Abraham M. Smith, Howard University (Latin America/Caribbean, African Diaspora)

M. Yvonne Wallace Fuentes, Duke University (modern Latin America)

Division Representatives (3-year terms)


David S. Newbury, Smith College (sub-Saharan Africa, social, environmental, historiography)

Denise J. Youngblood, University of Vermont (Russia/eastern Europe, European cultural, film and history)


Karen Kupperman, New York University (early America)

Leslie S. Rowland, University of Maryland, College Park (U.S. South, Civil War and Reconstruction)


Joan E. Arno, George Washington High School, Philadelphia (world, post-World War II Japan, America, geography

Barry Bienstock, Horace Mann School, New York City (U.S. race and ethnicity, Native American)

Committee on Committees (3-year terms)

Slot 1

Peter F. Guardino, Indiana University (Mexico, Latin America, political culture)

Lyman L. Johnson, University of North Carolina, Charlotte (colonial Latin America, Argentina)

Slot 2

Elaine Tyler May, University of Minnesota (U.S., U.S. women)

Alan S. Taylor, University of California, Davis (American West, colonial/revolutionary/early national America)

Nominating Committee (3-year terms)

Slot 1

David A. Bell, Johns Hopkins University (early modern Europe, France, origins of nationalism)

Paula Findlen, Stanford University (Renaissance-Enlightenment Italy, science and medicine)

Slot 2

Thomas Cohen, Catholic University of America (Brazil and colonial Latin America, early modern Iberia, religious and cultural)

Michael J. Gonzales, Northern Illinois University (modern Latin America, revolution, labor and social)

Slot 3

Iris Berger, SUNY-Albany (Africa, women and gender, labor)

Kenneth L. Pomeranz, University of California, Irvine (modern China, global)

Nominations may also be made by petition carrying in each case the signatures of one hundred or more members of the Association in good standing and indicating in each case the particular vacancy for which the nomination is intended. Nominations by petition must be in the hands of the Nominating Committee on or before July 1, 2002. All nominations must be accompanied by certification of willingness of the nominee to serve if elected. In distributing the annual ballot by mail to the members of the Association, the Nominating Committee shall present and identify such candidates nominated by petition along with its own candidates.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.