Publication Date

April 1, 2001

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

The Nominating Committee for 2001–02, chaired by Sara T. Nalle (William Paterson Univ.), met in Washington, D.C., February 3–5, 2001, and offers the following candidates for offices of the Association that are to be filled in the election this year:

President (1-year term)

Lynn A. Hunt, UCLA (France, early modern Europe, late modern Europe since 1789, cultural)

President-Elect (1-year term)

Jack P. Greene, Johns Hopkins Univ. (colonial British America, early U.S.)

James M. McPherson, Princeton Univ. (19th-century U.S., Civil War)

Vice President, Professional Division (3-year term)

William J. Cronon, Univ. of Wisconsin at Madison (environmental, U.S. West)

Alice Kessler-Harris, Columbia Univ. (20th-century U.S., women)

Council (3-year terms)

Slot 1

Lonnie Bunch, Chicago Historical Society (African American, African Americans in the West, 19th-century social)

Victoria A. Harden, U.S. National Institutes of Health (medical research on AIDS, medical research technology)

Slot 2

Stefan A. Tanaka, Univ. of California at San Diego (modern Japan)

John K. Thornton, Millersville Univ. of Pennsylvania (world civilization, Africa, Near East)

Division Representatives (3-year terms)


Peter C. Hoffer, Univ. of Georgia (early America, legal, quantitative methods)

Jeffrey Merrick, Univ. of Wisconsin at Milwaukee (early modern France, intellectual and cultural, gender and sexuality)


Gary B. Cohen, Univ. of Oklahoma (modern European social, Austria, Czech lands since 1790)

Lawrence Wolff, Boston Coll. (eastern Europe, 18th-century intellectual and cultural)


Ellen Furlough, Univ. of Kentucky (modern France, 20th-century Europe)

Matthew Restall, Penn State Univ. (colonial Latin America)

Committee on Committees (3-year term)

Carole Fink, Ohio State Univ. (Europe, 20th-century international, historiography)

Jane G. Landers, Vanderbilt Univ. (Latin America, Afro-Latin America)

Nominating Committee (3-year terms)

Slot 1

Luise White, Univ. of Florida (East Africa, historiography, oral)

Anand A. Yang, Univ. of Utah (South Asia, comparative Asia, world)

Slot 2

Edward L. Ayers, Univ. of Virginia (U.S. South, 19th-century U.S.)

Patricia Nelson Limerick, Univ. of Colorado at Boulder (American West)

Slot 3

Alice L. Conklin, Univ. of Rochester (France)

Mack P. Holt, George Mason Univ. (early modern France, Renaissance, Reformation)

Nominations may also be made by petition, carrying in each case the signatures of 100 or more members of the Association in good standing and indicating in each case the particular vacancy for which the nomination is intended. Nominations by petition must be in the hands of the Nominating Committee on or before July 1, 2001. All nominations must be accompanied by certification of willingness of the nominee to serve if elected. In distributing the annual ballot by mail to the members of the Association, the Nominating Committee shall present and identify such candidates nominated by petition along with its own candidates.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.