Publication Date

April 1, 2000

The Nominating Committee for 2000-01, chaired by Michael Les Benedict (Ohio State Univ.), met February 5-7, 2000, in Washington, D.C., and offers the following candidates for offices of the Association that are to be filled in the election this year:

President (1-Year Term)

Wm. Roger Louis, Univ. of Texas at Austin (British Empire; modern British history; expansion of Europe; Asia, Middle East, Africa)

President-Elect (1-Year Term)

Lynn A. Hunt, UCLA (France, early modern Europe, late modern Europe since 1789, cultural)

Charles S. Maier, Harvard Univ. (20th century Europe)

Vice President, Teaching Division (3-Year Term)

Kathryn Kish Sklar, SUNY, Binghamton (U.S. and comparative women)

William A. Weber, California State Univ. at Long Beach (modern Europe, social history of music)

Council (3-Year Terms)

Slot 1

Maureen Murphy Nutting, North Seattle Community Coll. (U. S., women, Latin America, world)

William A. Paquette, Tidewater Community Coll. (20th-century Europe, two World Wars, modern Europe, Canada, China)

Slot 2

David Harris Sacks, Reed Coll. (early modern Britain and Europe, the Atlantic world)

Adrian Shubert, York Univ. (modern Spain, European social and cultural)

Division Representatives (3-Year Terms)


Jaime E. Rodriguez O., Univ. of California at Irvine (Latin American social, Mexico and Andean countries since 1800)

Susan Stuard, Haverford Coll. (medieval, social and economic, women)


Bruce Cumings, Univ. of Chicago (international, East Asian political economy, modern Korea)

Louis A. Perez Jr., Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Latin America, Caribbean, Cuba)


David Berry, Essex County (N.J.) Community Coll. (world; modern European intellectual, 1500 to the present; modern European social; interdisciplinary studies; philosophy of history)

Marguerite (Peggy) Renner, Glendale Calif., Community Coli. (middle colonies, colonial and 19th-century North America; women; social; education)

Committee on Committees (3-Year Term)

Jerry H. Bentley, Univ. of Hawaii at Manoa (world, early modern Europe)

John A. Mears, Southern Methodist Univ. (early modern Europe)

Nominating Committee (3-Year Terms)

Slot 1

Elizabeth Israels Perry, St. Louis Univ. (U.S. Progressive Era, women in reform and politics)

Peter Kolchin, Univ. of Delaware (19th-century U.S., U.S. South, slavery, comparative)

Slot 2

Peter A. Fritzsche, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (modern Europe, 20th-century Germany, historiography)

Susan W. Kent, Univ. of Colorado at Boulder (19th- and 20th-century Britain, Europe, gender)

Slot 3

Joyce E. Chaplin, Vanderbilt Univ. (colonial America)

Lynn Dumenil, Occidental Coil. (U.S. cultural, social, political, women, ethnicity)

Nominations may also be made by petition carrying in each case the signatures of 100 or more members of the Association in good standing and indicating in each case the particular vacancy for which the nomination is intended. Nominations by petition must be in the hands of the Nominating Committee on or before July 1, 2000. All nominations must be accompanied by certification of willingness of the nominee to serve if elected. In distributing the annual ballot by mail to the members of the Association, the Nominating Committee shall present and identify such candidates nominated by petition along with its own candidates.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.