Publication Date

December 1, 1998

Lillie Johnson Edwards (Drew Univ.), chair of the Nominating Committee, announces the following results of the 1998 balloting for officers and committee members of the American Historical Association.

President: Robert Darnton (Princeton Univ.)

President-Elect: Eric Foner (Columbia Univ.)

Vice President, Professional Division
Barbara D. Metcalf
(Univ. of California at Davis)

Council Members

Place 1: Linda Shopes (Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission)
Place 2: Vicki L. Ruiz (Arizona State Univ.)

Division Members

Professional: Charles Anthony Zappia (San Diego Mesa Coll.)
Research: Richard L. Greaves (Florida State Univ.)
Teaching: Maxine Neustadt Lurie (Seton Hall Univ.)

Committee on Committees
William B. Taylor
(Univ. of California at Berkeley)

Nominating Committee

Place 1: Allison Blakely (Howard Univ.)
Place 2: Donald Teruo Hata Jr. (California State Univ. at Dominguez Hills)
Place 3: Sarah T.Nalle (William Paterson Univ. of New Jersey)

The results will be formally announced at the annual business meeting on January 9, 1999, in Maryland Suite A of the Marriott Wardman Park Hotel, beginning at 4:45 p.m. A detailed election report will appear in the January 1999 issue of Perspectives.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.