Publication Date

April 1, 1991

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

The Nominating Committee for 1991-92, chaired by Gary B. Nash, University of California, Los Angeles, met in Washington, DC, on February 14-16, and offers the following candidates for offices of the Association that are to be filled in the election this year:


President (one-year term)

Frederic E. Wakeman, Jr., University of California, Berkeley (China)

President-elect (one-year term)

Richard S. Dunn, University of Pennsylvania (colonial America/Tudor-Stuart England)

Louise A. Tilly, New School for Social Research (European social)

Vice President, Teaching Division (three-year term)

Robert A. Blackey, California State University, San Bernardino (Britain/early modern Europe)

Judith P. Zinsser, United Nations International School (World history)

Council Members (three-year terms)


Place 1

Suzanne Wilson Barnett, University of Puget Sound (modern China)

Richard Smethurst, University of Pittsburgh (modern Japan)

Place 2

Sam Bass Warner, Jr., Boston University (American urban)

Harold D. Woodman, Purdue University (U.S. economic)

Division Members (three-year terms)


Paul K. Conkin, Vanderbilt University (American intellectual)

Harold M. Hyman, Rice University (constitutional/legal)


James Lockhart, University of California, Los Angeles (Latin America)

William B. Taylor, University of Virginia (Latin America)


Sarah Hanley, University of Iowa (early modern France)

Susan M. Stuard, Haverford College (medieval)

Committee on Committees (three-year term)

Richard J. M. Blackett, Indiana University (Afro-American)

P. Sterling Stuckey, University of California, Riverside (Afro-American)

Nominating Committee (three-year terms)

Place 1

Evelyn Edson, Piedmont Virginia Community College (European social)

Judy Jeffrey Howard, National Endowment for the Humanities (women/Italian)

Place 2

Jere L. Bacharach, University of Washington (modern Middle East)

Claire Robertson, Ohio State University (women/African)

Place 3

Mario T. Garcia, Yale University (Chicano)

David Montejano, University of Texas, Austin (U.S. Southwest)


Nominations may also be made by petition, carrying in each case the signatures of one hundred or more members of the Association in good standing and indicating in each case the particular vacancy for which the nomination is intended. Nominations by petition must be in the hands of the Nominating Committee on or before July 1. All nominations must be accompanied by certification of the willingness of the nominee to serve if elected. In distributing the annual ballot by mail to the members of the Association, the Nominating Committee shall present and identify such candidates nominated by petition along with its own candidates.