Publication Date

April 1, 1989

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

The Nominating Committee for 1989–90, chaired by Darlene Clark Hine, Michigan State University, met in Washington, D.C., on February 16–18, and offers the following candidates for these offices of the Association that are to be filled in the election this year:


President (one-year term)

David Herlihy, Brown University (medieval)

President-elect (one-year term)

William E. Leuchtenburg, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill (American)

Leon F. Litwack, University of California, Berkeley (American)

Vice-President, Professional Division (three-year term)

Susan M. Socolow, Emory University (Latin American)

John Womack, Jr., Harvard University (Latin American)

Council Members (three-year terms)


Place 1

Arnita Jones, History Associates, Inc., Louisville, KY (public)

Robert L. Kelley, University of California, Santa Barbara (public)

Place 2

Barbara A. Hanawalt, University of Minnesota (medieval)

William C. Jordan, Princeton University (medieval)

Division Members (three-year terms)


John Bushnell, Northwestern University (Russian)

Barbara Engel, University of Colorado, Boulder (Russian)


Lloyd E. Eastman, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (Chinese)

David Stam, Syracuse University Library (English)


Dennis C. Dickerson, Williams College (Afro-American)

Robert Brent Toplin, University of North Carolina, Wilmington (Afro American)

Committee on Committees (three-year terms)

David A. Hollinger, University of Michigan (U.S.)

Carole Shammas, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (U.S.)

Nominating Committee (three-year terms)

Place 1

Pete Daniel, Smithsonian Institution (American)

Bargara Howe, West Virginia University (public)

Place 2

Arvarh E. Strickland, University of Missouri-Columbia (Afro-American)

Rosalyn Terborg-Penn, Morgan State College (Afro-American)

Place 3

Patrick J. Geary, University of Florida (medieval)

Glenn W. Olsen, University of Utah (medieval)


Nominations may also be made by petitions carrying in each case the signatures of one hundred or more members of the Association in good standing and indicating in each case the particular vacancy for which the nomination is intended. Nominations by petition must be in the hands of the chair of the Nominating Committee on or before July 1. All nominations must be accompanied by certification of the willingness of the nominee to serve if elected. In distributing the annual ballot by mail to the members of the Association, the Nominating Committee shall present and identify such candidates nominated by petition along with its own candidates.