Publication Date

December 1, 1989

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities

Darlene Clark Hine, chair of the Nominating Committee, has announced the following results of the 1989 balloting for officers and committee members of the American Historical Association.



David Herlihy, Brown University


William E. Leuchtenburg, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Vice President, Professional Division

Susan M. Socolow, Emory University

Council Members


Place 1

Robert L. Kelley, University of California, Santa Barbara

Place 2

Barbara A. Hanawalt, University of Minnesota

Divisional Committee Members


Barbara Engel, University of Colorado, Boulder


David Stam, Syracuse University Library


Robert Brent Toplin, University of North Carolina, Wilmington

Committee on Committees

Carole Shammas, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

Nominating Committee

Place 1

Pete Daniel, National Museum of American History

Place 2

Arvarh Strickland, University of Missouri, Columbia

Place 3

Patrick J. Geary, University of Florida


These results will be announced at the annual business meeting in San Francisco, December 29 in Continental Parlor 8 of the San Francisco Hilton beginning at 4:45 p.m. A detailed election report will appear in the January issue of Perspectives.