

First Annual Department Chairs' Workshop June 27-28, 2018 in Chicago, IL Agenda

Exact Scheduling of Sessions is Subject to Change

Informal Meetup (June 26, Optional)

Check in at Cambria Hotel and Suites (166 E. Superior St., 60611) and have dinner on your own **8:00-9:00 pm:** Informal gathering of participants and facilitators in hotel lounge at Cambria Hotel

Day 1 (June 27)

**From 8:15, coffee service and continental breakfast available in meeting space

9:00-9:30 am: Welcome and Introductions

James Grossman, Kevin Boyle

9:30-10:15 am: Plenary: Being a Chair: Beyond the Job Description

Rita Roberts, James Sweet, Elizabeth Lehfeldt (five minutes each of intro/reflection, includes issues of women/minorities in leadership roles and time for Q&A)

- Managing teaching, research, and administration
- Negotiating new identity as an administrator/becoming a leader on campus
 Mentoring faculty & advocating for faculty with upper administration
- Role of chair on broad administrative ecology: level of authority and power in department and within institution

15 min break

10:30-11:30 am: Breakout Session I: Institutional Context and Administrative Imperatives

Breakout out by institution type

- PhD-granting: James Sweet and Katrin Schultheiss
- Public non-PhD granting: Elizabeth Lehfeldt and Jeffrey McClurken
- Private undergraduate: William Kerrigan and Rita Roberts

Topics to discuss:

- Assessment and reporting
- Accreditation/external review
- Institutional Research

15 min break

11:45-12:45 pm: Breakout Session II: Topics Tailored by Institution

Some topics may be moved to Breakout Session V

Facilitators tailor as they see fit:

- Being chair at a resource-scarce institution (William Kerrigan)
- Digital Pedagogy (Jeffrey McClurken)
- Alumni and Fundraising (James Sweet)
- Parent relations (Rita Roberts)
- Career Diversity for Historians (TBD)

1:00-2:00: Lunch (provided onsite)

2:00-3:15 pm: Plenary: Personnel and Departmental Culture

Elizabeth Lehfeldt, Kevin Boyle, Katrin Schultheiss

- Sexual harassment
- Civility
- Power dynamics
- Faculty/staff relations
- AHA to provide draft sexual harassment policies

15 min break

3:30-4:45 pm: Breakout Session III: Care and Management of Faculty

Breakout out by institution type

- PhD-granting: James Sweet and Katrin Schultheiss
- Public non-PhD granting: Elizabeth Lehfeldt and Jeffrey McClurken
- Private undergraduate: William Kerrigan and Rita Roberts

Topics to discuss:

- Contingent faculty: management, mentoring, etc.
- Mental health
- Review process: hiring, promotion, tenure

15 min break

5:00-5:45 pm: Group Lightning Round

Kevin Boyle & James Grossman to run

An open-ended lightning round in which everyone is encouraged to throw out creative ideas about any relevant topic even if they are just ideas with no implementation plan. Two minutes per speaker. Contributions will be used to generate break out topics for Day 2.

Break

7:30-10:30 pm: Workshop Dinner (Reserved Room: Quartino Ristorante, 626 N. State St.)

Day 2 (June 28)

**From 8:00, coffee service and continental breakfast available in meeting space

8:30-8:45 am: AHA Programming—How Can We Help You?

James Grossman, Kevin Boyle, Emily Swafford

8:45-9:45 am: Plenary: Diversity

Rita Roberts and James Sweet

Topics to discuss:

- Recruiting and training faculty
- Students
- Role of department chairs in expanding pipeline

15 min break

10:00-10:30 am: Introduction to Enrollments

Elizabeth Lehfeldt

15 min break

10:45-11:45 am: Breakout Session IV: Enrollments

Breakout out by institution type

- PhD-granting: James Sweet and Katrin Schultheiss
- Public non-PhD granting: Elizabeth Lehfeldt and Jeffrey McClurken
- Private undergraduate: William Kerrigan and Rita Roberts

Topics to discuss

- Cross-disciplinary initiatives/creating flexibility within the major
- AHA Tuning and recruitment

12:00-1:00 pm: Lunch (provided onsite)

1:00-2:00 pm: Breakout Session V: Topics Suggested by Lightning Round

15 min break

2:15-3:00 pm: Closing Plenary: Professional Identity & Career Paths Elizabeth Lehfeldt and Jeffrey McClurken