Member News

Member News, May 2013

AHA Staff, May 2013

Editor's Note: AHA members are encouraged to submit news about their careers, including prizes, promotions, honors, tenure, and new jobs. If you have an announcement that you would like to publish, please send it toPerspectives on History, with the subject line, "Member News."

Harvey J. Graff, Eminent Scholar in Literacy Studies and Professor of English and History at Ohio State University, has been named a fellow of the National Humanities Center in Research Triangle, North Carolina, and a fellow of the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University, for 2013-14. He will spend the year at the National Humanities Center writing a social history of interdisciplinarity.

Elizabeth Schmidt, professor of African history at Loyola University Maryland, has two 2013 publications concerning Africa and the Cold War. Her book, Foreign Intervention in Africa: From the Cold War to the War on Terror, was published by Cambridge University Press, and her chapter on "Africa" appeared in The Oxford Handbook of the Cold War.

Judith Stein, who earlier this year became a City University of New York (CUNY) Distinguished Professor, has been awarded a CUNY Distinguished Fellowship for the spring 2014 semester from the Advanced Research Collaborative (ARC) of the Graduate Center (GC) of the City University of New York. She is one of 15 "exceptional national and international scholars" selected for the inaugural cohort of this GC initiative. Professor Stein will use the fellowship to conduct research on negotiations between 1995 and 2001 that led to China's entry into the World Trade Organization. This is integral to a book she is writing to explain the ideological changes that led to the United States emerging as the world's dominant economy by the end of the 1990s.

Keith A. Wailoo, the Townsend Martin Professor of History and Public Affairs, has been named vice dean of the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, effective July 1, 2013.