Publication Date

October 1, 1995

Perspectives Section

AHA Activities


1996 John H. Coatsworth, Harvard Univ. (Latin America), president

1996 Caroline W. Bynum, Columbia Univ. (medieval), president-elect

1996 Thomas C. Holt, Univ. of Chicago (African American, 19th-century United States), immediate past president

1996 Drew Gilpin Faust, Univ. of Pennsylvania (U.S. South), vice president, Professional Division

1997 William G. Rosenberg, Univ. of Michigan (Imperial Russia/Soviet), vice president, Research Division

1998 Peter N. Stearns, Carnegie Mellon Univ. (Europe, social), vice president, Teaching Division

1996 Mary Elizabeth Perry, Occidental Coll. and UCLA (European social)

1996 Donald R. Ritchie, U.S. Senate Historical Office (U.S. political, oral)

1997 Leslie Brown, Skidmore Coll. and Duke Univ. (American social and political)

1997 Walter LaFeber, Cornell Univ. (America)

1998 Barbara Ramusack, Univ. of Cincinnati (South Asia)

1998 David Trask, Guilford Technical Community Coll. (United States)



1996 Claire G. Moses, Univ. of Maryland at College Park (women, modern France)

1997 Reid Andrews, Univ. of Pittsburgh (Latin America)

1998 William J. Cronon, Univ. of Wisconsin at Madison (U.S. West)


1996 Laurel Thatcher Ulrich, Harvard Univ. (early America)

1997 Member selected during 1995 election, either Robert C. Ritchie, Huntington Library (early America), or John Y. Simon, Papers of Ulysses S. Grant (Civil War and Reconstruction)

1998 Donna J. Guy, Univ. of Arizona at Tucson (Latin America)


1996 James J. Lorence, Univ. of Wisconsin Center at Marathon County (United States)

1997 Doris Meadows, Wilson Magnet High School [Rochester, N.Y.] (U.S. Progressive Era)

1998 Evelyn Hu-DeHart, Univ. of Colorado at Boulder (Latin America)

Committee on Committees

1996 Ramón Gutiérrez, Univ. of California at San Diego (Chicano, colonial Latin America)

1997 N. Geoffrey Parker, Yale Univ. (early modern Europe)

1997 Kathy L. Peiss, Univ. of Massachusetts at Amherst (modern United States)

1998 Bonnie G. Smith, Rutgers Univ. (modern Europe)

Nominating Committee

1996 James Grossman, chair, Newberry Library (social, labor)

1996 Marcia L. Colish, Oberlin Coll. (medieval)

1996 Sylvia M. Jacobs, North Carolina Central Univ. (African American)

1997 Lizabeth Cohen, New York Univ. (U.S. social and urban)

1997 José Cuello, Wayne State Univ. (colonial Latin America)

1997 Sarah Maza, Northwestern Univ. (18th-century France)

1998 Gordon Chang, Stanford Univ. (Asian American)

1998 Karen Ordahl Kupperman, New York Univ. (American colonial)

1998 Arthur Zilversmit, Lake Forest Coll. (American intellectual)

See also the ballot material for the 1995 elections that was mailed to the membership last month, the slate of which was published in the April 1995 Perspectives. Suggestions should be submitted to Executive Director, AHA, 400 A Street S.E., Washington, DC 20003. Please specify academic or other position and field of the individual; include also a brief statement of his or her qualifications for the particular position for which you are recommending the person.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.