Publication Date

December 1, 1996

The general meeting of the American Historical Association will take place on Friday, January 3, at 8:30 P.M., in the East Ballroom of the Hilton Hotel. President-elect Joyce Appleby, of UCLA, will announce the following book awards and prizes:

Herbert Baxter Adams Prize: European history, 1815 through the 20th century

George Louis Beer Prize: European international history since 1895

Albert J. Beveridge Award: U.S., Latin American, or Canadian history, 1492 to the present

Paul Birdsall Prize: European military and strategic history since 1870

Henry Breasted Prize: European history before A.D. 1000

John King Fairbank Prize: East Asian history since 1800

Herbert Feis Award: distinguished research and publication by historian outside academe

Leo Gershoy Award: 17th- and 18th-century western European history

Clarence Haring Prize: Latin American history published by a Latin American

Joan Kelly Memorial Prize: women’s history

Waldo G. Leland Prize: most outstanding history reference tool

Littleton-Griswold Prize: American law and society

Helen and Howard R. Marraro Prize: Italian or Italian-U.S. history

Premio del Rey Prize: Spanish history before 1516

James Harvey Robinson Prize: most outstanding history teaching aid

Wesley-Logan Prize: African diaspora history

President-elect Appleby will also announce the recipients of the following awards and honors:

1996 Award for Scholarly Distinction

Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award

Beveridge Family Teaching Prize

John O'Connor Film Award

Nancy Lyman Roelker Mentorship Award

1996 Honorary Foreign Member

After the presentation of awards and honors, Caroline Walker Bynum, of Columbia University, will deliver her presidential address, "Wonder," in which she will discuss miracles and marvels in the European Middle Ages. By exploring medieval conceptions of and responses to the cultural, natural, and supernatural "other," she will reflect upon the responsibilities of historians today.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.