Publication Date

December 1, 1995

The general meeting of the American Historical Association will take place on Friday, January 5, at 8:30 PM., in the Grand Salon East of the Atlanta Hilton, President-elect Caroline Walker Bynum, of Columbia University, will announce the following book awards and prizes:

Herbert Baxter Adams Prize: European history;1815 through 20th century

George Louis Beer Prize: European international history since 1895

Albert J. Beveridge Award: U.S. Latin American, or Canadian history, 1492 to present

James Henry Breasted Prize: African, North American, and Latin American history prior to AD, 1000

John H. Dunning Prize: U.S. history

John King Fairbank Prize: East Asian history from 1800 to present

Herbert Feis Award: to an independent scholar or public historian

Leo Gershoy Award: 17th-and 18th-century western European history

J. Franklin JamesonPrize: editing historical sources

Joan Kelly Memorial Prize: women’s history

Littleton-Griswold Prize: American law and society

Helen and Howard R. Marraro Prize: Italian or Italian-U.S. history

Wesley-Logan Prize: history of the dispersion, settlement, adjustment, and return of peoples originally from Africa

President-elect Bynum will also announce recipients of the following awards and 1995 AHA Awards for Scholarly Distinction

Eugene Asher Distinguished Teaching Award

William Gilbert Award for Best Teaching Article

John O'Connor Film Award

Nancy Lyman Roelker Mentorship Award

1995 Honorary Foreign Member

After the presentation of awards and honors, John H. Coatsworth, of Harvard University will deliver his presidential address, "Welfare," in which he will review the work of economic historians and scholars in archaeology, demography, and physical anthropology to measure and explain changes in the physical welfare of human populations. He will argue that new work in this field, and on the cultural, political, and social determinants of changes in human welfare, has become vital to interpreting the past.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.