Publication Date

December 1, 1993

The 1995 annual meeting of the Association will be held in Cincinnati, Ohio, January 5–8. The Program Committee welcomes proposals by all members of the Association (academic and nonacademic), by scholars in related disciplines, and by affiliated societies. The program for the annual meeting seeks to promote excellence in research and teaching and discussion of significant professional issues, rights, and responsibilities. The Program Committee seeks presentations that address the entire community of historians and provide opportunities to examine the larger concerns of the profession. Since 1995 is the fiftieth anniversary of the end of World War II, the committee welcomes sessions that focus on the aftermath of war in different times and places, and on explorations of the ways historians explain and represent such periods of disruption and restabilization. The committee will be particularly interested in proposals that raise significant theoretical, methodological, and pedagogical issues and in panels that provide a comparative perspective. To date, the committee has received very few proposals in ancient, medieval, early modern, Eastern European and the former Soviet Union, Asian, and African history, and historiography.

The 1995 Program Committee consists of Robert L. Harris, Jr., chair, Cornell University; Ann-Louise Shapiro, cochair, Wesleyan University; Cheryl Johnson-Odim, Loyola University of Chicago; Sharon Farmer, University of California, Santa Barbara; Heidi Roupp, Aspen Public Schools; Juan Mora-Torres, University of Texas, San Antonio; Mary Nolan, New York University; Sharon Strocchia, Emory University; Yuri Slezkine, University of California, Berkeley; David T. Konig, Washington University; Jay L. Kaplan, New York Council for the Humanities; Renate Bridenthal, 1996 chair, Brooklyn College, City University of New York; and Patrick Manning, 1996 cochair, Northeastern University.

Proposals should be for entire sessions, panels, or workshops. Participants in the 1994 program will not be eligible to appear on the 1995 program. Sessions usually consist of three papers with a commentator and a chair, or two papers with a commentator and a chair. Occasionally, the committee will consider a single major paper with three commentators and a chair. All proposals for sessions should include:

  1. A one-page outline of the session similar to the information printed in the program, including session title, name and affiliation for the chair, titles of papers, names, and affiliations of presenters, and name and affiliation of commentator.
  2. A one-page statement of purposes for the session, including objectives, issues raised, methodologies employed, pedagogical implications, and brief abstracts for each paper or presentation.
  3. A short vita (education, employment, and recent publications) for each participant who has consented to be considered for participation on the program.
  4. A one-page list of names and addresses (including summer 1994 addresses if different), phone and FAX numbers for each participant.

The deadline for proposals is February 4, 1994. Kindly mail four copies of each proposal to Robert L. Harris, Jr., Africana Studies and Research Center, Cornell University, 310 Triphammer Rd., Ithaca, NY 14850.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Attribution must provide author name, article title, Perspectives on History, date of publication, and a link to this page. This license applies only to the article, not to text or images used here by permission.