Theodore Roosevelt-Woodrow Wilson Award

AHA members are invited to suggest names of individuals who can be nominated for the Theodore Roosevelt-Woodrow Wilson Public Service Award. Named for the two former AHA presidents who were also presidents of the United States—Theodore Roosevelt (AHA president in 1912) and Woodrow Wilson (AHA president in 1924)—this honorific award recognizes individuals outside the historical profession who have made a significant contributions to the study, teaching, and public understanding of history.

The suggestions for possible nominees can include (but need not be restricted to), for example, persons who may have made a significant contribution to the support and encouragement of history through their actions. Such noteworthy actions may include philanthropy, supporting or working for organizations that promote history in public life, helping to protect and preserve a national historical monument or park, or other work that cultivates public awareness of history. Previous honorees are Senator Robert C. Byrd (D-WV), Brian Lamb (C-SPAN president and CEO), Steven Spielberg (founding chair, Shoah Visual History Foundation), Congressman John Lewis (D-GA), Richard A. Moe (president, National Trust for Historic Preservation), Adam Hochschild (journalist and author), Lee H. Hamilton (director, Center on Congress at Indiana University, and former director of the Woodrow Wilson Center for International Scholars), Sandra Day O'Connor (retired associate justice, Supreme Court of the United States), Richard Gilder (founder, Gilder Lehrman Institute), and David Rubinstein (The Carlyle Group).

The executive director and the AHA president will consider members’ suggestions and other names to choose the nominees. The AHA Council will thereupon make the final selection, and the award will be presented at the AHA’s annual meeting.

The annual deadline for receiving nominations is April 1.

Email nominations (along with a one-page note justifying the suggestion) no later than April 1 to  Be sure to include in the subject line “Roosevelt-Wilson Award: [Nominee Name].”