AHA Council Annual Meeting Travel Grants

Young annual meeting attendees ride down a escalator in the Colorado Convention Center, Denver, January 2017.The application period for the 2020 grants has passed. Applications for 2022 grants will open in October 2021.

In 2015, the AHA Council established a fund to subsidize graduate student attendance at the AHA annual meeting and expanded the program to include un/underemployed historians in 2020. Applicants in any major or minor field of study, regardless of participation in the meeting program, will be considered. Grant amounts are recommended annually by the executive director based on the fund balance and typically range from $200–$400.

See the list of past recipients.


Only graduates student members and un/underemployed members of the Association are eligible to apply for the AHA Council Annual Meeting Travel Grants. Please note: No individual is eligible to receive more than one travel grant. Preference will be given to those who have previously applied but not received an award.

Application Process

Log into your MY AHA account at historians.org/myaha and click “Available Awards” in the Awards, Grants, and Fellowships section.

  1. Fill in the application form, which includes your contact information and a statement describing how you would benefit from attending the annual meeting.
  2. Upload an Application Packet as a single PDF. Include the following document:
    • CV (up to 2 pages)
  3. Letters of recommendation are NOT required.

Selection Process

Recipients will be selected by lottery, and successful applicants will be notified by email in early December. Please, no phone calls.


After the annual meeting, successful applicants will be expected to write a 250-word reflection on a session they attended. Reflections should not be a summary but rather a provocative and interesting reaction.

Award Distribution

Grantees will receive payments after submitting travel receipts and a 250-word reflection on a session attended at the meeting.

For questions, please contact the Prize Administrator.